Skip to content

Tim Davids

March 3, 2011
Tim Davids
We’re wrapping up Big Top Denver week with Denver filmmaker Tim Davids, one of the creative minds behind the event. Tim’s parents got him a video camera for his fifth birthday, and in 1991 his grandma let him stay home from school to see The Last Boyscout, which effectively screwed them out of having a kid who was not a filmmaker. His films have shown at the Doorpost Film Festival, the Boulder Fringe Festival, the Oriental Theater, and in countless living rooms during house parties. In addition to making DIY films, ever since winning the Denver Young Authors competition with his story “Terrible the Bulldog” nineteen years ago, Tim has continued to write and, though he claims to not be very good, he does so for the Westword Arts and Culture blog “Show and Tell,” and for Popular Lemonade. A social media Renaissance man, Tim blogs, he tumbls, he tweets (as 2509), and he also dances (but only alone in his room). If the film gods are reading this, Tim really wishes that  someone would give him the budget to remake Last Starfighter.  Big Top Denver is the second show Tim has organized (the first was called “Bands my parents wouldn’t like playing at my parents’ house”), and 12 Questions can’t wait to see what kind of ruckus happens on Saturday!

1. What is your hometown?

Denver, Colorado. The West side of Denver, specifically.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Matt Albi, from the short-lived Aaron Sorkin/Thomas Schlamme show Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip. He’s kinda what I want to be when I grow up. He even has my weird and terrible hair.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

If we’re basing the job on physicality, everyone around me is gonna go with Kevin Smith, right? Though I think Josh Charles in a fat suit is a much better choice. If we’re going with attitude/aura mannerisms, I think Mark Ruffalo would be my front-runner, or Matthew Perry (who totally played Matt Albi).

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

SCUD, by Rob Schrab. The series finale of Angel. Nighthawks by Edward Hopper. “And ‘Lord knows I can’t change/ Sounds better in the song/ Than it does with hell to pay.” Rian Johnson’s two films. 808s and Heartbreaks. The bloodiest pieces of Catholic iconography. The first season of Louie. Malcolm Reynolds. “Doesn’t matter which way you face me/North, East, West or South/ Put your hands in my two hands/ Your mouth against my mouth.” Daredevil: Born Again.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I’m re-reading Phillip K. Dick’s The Man in the High Castle. I always recommend anything by Tim Sandlin, or my old professor Jeffrey DeShell. I just finished Jay-Z’s autobiography Decoded. I always hand out copies of Jane Austen’s Persuasion (I used to be a Pride and Prejudice guy, but I was won over).

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Kanye West’s My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, anything released by Childish Gambino over the internet, OFWGKTM, most songs that feature Drake/Lil Wayne (deal with it).

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Rabbit Hole, but in the middle of the movie, not the end, which makes sense considering there’s no real catharsis. I’m super glad I went to see Rabbit Hole before I answered these questions, otherwise the answer would be Just Wright starring Queen Latifah, which I rented from a Redbox for my mom but instead watched alone on my computer on a Saturday morning while my girlfriend was at work, and when I’m really sleep deprived, I get really emotionally unstable. I was sleep deprived. And Queen Latifah is very likable.

8.  Cat person or dog person?

I’ve only ever loved one dog with all of my heart, and he’s basically a very large cat. Growing up, my mom was allergic to cats, then I lived in a place where I could have a cat, I lived with that dog, who while being cat-like, would, in fact, mercilessly kill and eat a cat were it to reside in the same domicile.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

I make it a point to lie as little as possible about things, especially if I’m asked specifically, and I never lie about something important. But I have no problem with a kind white lie as long as it’s not principally self-serving. As Toby says in the West Wing, “There’s only one rule I know of, babies – Goddamn it, you have to be kind.”

10.    How do you define sin?

Broken promises.

11.    How do you define virtue?

Sticking to a code/idea/principle in a fucked up world, even when it goes against your own desires.

12.   Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

I think more about what I’d like my funeral to be like than my headstone. I’m pretty sure I’d like to be cremated. And then spread all over the floor of wherever the Laker girls rehearse. So that hot chicks will bend and thrust all over me for eternity (which is how long there will be Laker girls, God willing).

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Sid Madrid. Rob Schrab. Frank Miller. Jeffrey DeShell. Tim Sandlin. Julia Nunes (also give her my phone number also don’t tell my girlfriend I said that). Jef Otte. Sam Taylor. Jen Korte. Amber Powell. Warren Ellis. Tyler the Creator. Don Glover. Lawrence Yee. Bree Davies. Natalie Tran. Lloyd Kaufman. Shanda Kohlberg from The Swanks, and Jesus Christ.

Connections:

@2509
2509’s Kitty Kat Parade
Tim Davids on Westword
Tim Davids on Popular Lemonade

Popular Lemonade presents 2509’s Big Top Denver

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

