Skip to content

Shane Hickey

March 14, 2011

Shane Hickey is the definition of renaissance man. He’s a one-man show running his own network/system consultant business, husband, father of two, video game connoisseur, and one of five amazingly talented musicians in the infamous Missoula, Montana band Volumen. And when he’s not doing that, he’s serenading folks with his ukulele on his Ukulele Guy website. Renaissance man, right?  12 Questions thinks so. He’s also one damn fine Dungeon Master.

1. What is your hometown?

Knob Noster, Missouri.  Yes, I’m aware that it says Knob in there.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Ziggy.  Nah, I’m kidding.  That would be hilarious, though, right?  I’m not sure I identify with fictional characters  at all.  But, if I could be more like a particular character it would be Lane Meyer from Better Off Dead.  Only, I would want him to turn into Moon Knight and fight crime when the sun went down.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

John Cusack.  Duh.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

I  have a hard time appreciating art.  I think I set the record for “least time spent in front of a painting” whenever I go to a museum.  So, I’m going to have to say the first Velvet Underground record.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Anything by Vernor Vinge.  I’m attempting to read every Hugo award-winning book.  And, I typically only read science fiction and fantasy.  And I’d have to say that if I had to live in any of these alternate realities.  I would pick any of the Vernor Vinge realities.  Although, Heinlein’s lunar colony lifestyle would be pretty sweet with all that free love up in that piece.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

REM’s Murmur.  So much so that it’s driving my wife crazy.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

It would probably be easier to remember the last movie that didn’t make me cry.  I’m a real sucker.  I’m pretty sure I even cry during Uncle Buck.

8.  Cat person or dog person?

While I do own three cats, I would have to answer “neither”.  Pets are like children except they aren’t going to take care of you when you are old.  So… fuck em.  Actually, let me take it back and say Rat Person.  My youngest son has a pet rat and I freaking love that thing.  It’s tiny hands are so weird and human-like.  I’ve tried it to take seeds and tiny fruit pieces from between my lips.  It sounds gross, but it’s way less gross than getting licked by a dog or a cat.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Truth.  False kindness isn’t doing anyone any favors.  Sometimes you have to be the asshole to really help someone.  Unfortunately, it’s something that I’m well-equipped for.

10.  How do you define sin?

Hurting people.  Not corporations, just people.  I could really give a shit about most of the 7 deadly sins, unless they are hurting someone else.  Go ahead and be a lustful, slothful, envious jerk.

11.  How do you define virtue?

Self-sacrifice.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

I think I would want it to look like a normal headstone, but then it could transform into a robot.  Maybe they could even come up with some sort of gothic transformers based on the idea.  Gravebots, assemble!  Coffin-bot, you take Starscream.  Super Crypt, help me battle Megatron!  Anyway, I would have it say something like “You should really listen to his early 4-track tapes.”  Just so someone would eventually do that.

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Andrew “Ender” Wiggin

Connections:

Shane Hickey
@Ukulele_Guy
Volumen

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melinda Hickey permalink
    March 14, 2011 22:01

    I think your home town is Missoula. It can’t be Knob Noster. You only lived there from birth to 9 months of age. Is a birth town a person’s home town. I don’t think so. I’m just sayin….

Leave a Reply

