Skip to content

E. Katie Holm

March 21, 2011

E. Katie Holm

Photographer E. Katie Holm has spent an inordinate amount of time in cemeteries. Katie has traveled extensively photographing funerary architecture, documenting these threatened monuments for posterity. Her work has appeared in City Pages, Minnesota Monthly, Carpe Noctem, Ghastly and The Blue Divide magazines, as well as on numerous CD covers. Her current project “Women Warriors,” a series of fictitious portraits of historic women leaders, received a 2008 Artist Initiative Grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board. Katie came out from behind the camera to answer 12 Questions.

1. What is your hometown?

I always think this is a hard, or odd, question. I was born in Buffalo, NY, but lived there for less than a year, so it doesn’t count. I’ve lived in Minneapolis now for almost twelve years, so this is the place I’ve lived the longest, but I still don’t consider it my home town. I’d have to say Flint, MI, is my home town. I only lived there during high school, but those were such formative years for me—I will always think of Flint as the place I “grew up.”

2.With what fictional character do you most identify?

Samwise Gamgee of Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings. No hesitations on that answer at all. He is the honest friend I want to have, and the honest person that I want to be. Although he may seem simple at times, he is such a strong character. He’s the friend that comes to your aid when you just can’t continue. Without Sam, Frodo would never have made it to Mordor.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Mariska Hargitay, hands down. Maybe it’s because I love her character in Law & order: SVU (the only role I’ve ever seen her in), or the fact that I think I kinda look like her, but she seems like one tough cookie who can be sexy without being slutty.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

I love “Cloister Cemetery in the Snow” by Caspar David Friedrich. It was destroyed during WW2, which I think holds part of the fascination for me. I also love Hokusai’s “great Wave Off Kanagawa.” And I love the photography of Anton Corbijn!

5.What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I always recommend THE GOD OF SMALL THING by Arundhati Roy—the writing style vacillates between standard prose and stream of conscious, and it gets confusing, but in the end you understand why. It is a bittersweet tale well told. I also love the historical fictions of Dorothy Dunnett. They are very dense, amazingly well-researched, and utterly fascinating. But they are definitely a commitment to read!

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Metric’s Fantasies, Band of Skulls’ Baby Darling Doll face Honey

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

I can’t remember the last one, but I cried at UP! I cried really hard at Boy in the Stripped Pajamas.. Oh, I know, I recently re-watched Dead Poet’s Society, one of my fave movies, and of course cried when Neil died, and then at the very end when the boys stand up for Prof. Keating. “Oh Captain, my Captain.”

8. Cat person or dog person?

Although the Red Fox is my favorite animal, it is Kitties all the way!

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

I have to choose? I suppose kindness, because by using that you can best relay what truths need to be revealed.

10. How do you define sin?

Something you do that hurts other people, creatures or the world.

11. How do you define virtue?

Living each day being true to yourself and respectful to the world.

12.  Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

Small and simple with this quote from VNV Nation: “Set me aflame and cast me free.”

Connections:

E. Katie Holm Photography



One Comment leave one →
  1. ANON permalink
    March 21, 2011 16:47

    I also really admire Mariska Hargitay. She is beautiful in every way.

Leave a Reply

