Skip to content

Rosedale

April 6, 2011

Mike Liorti and Emerson Tavares of Rosedale

If you’re one of those guys (or gals) who thinks you’re too cool to dance, you may not want to see Rosedale live. Because they will make you shake your ass, believe it. A high-energy, electronic power pop/rock duo with a six-foot nine-inch front man, Rosedale is hard to miss. Tight drums, synth leads, catchy vocals, unreal performances accompanied by a spaced-out light show, and some rock ‘n roll attitude all boil down to one word: memorable.

Mike Liorti and Emerson Tavares don’t share much in common with popular two-piece rock acts that one might immediately deploy as parallels (hint: DFA 1979, MGMT, The Black Keys, et al.). Instead, Rosedale’s attitude, energy and aesthetic signals the days when DIY meant exactly that – no trendy posturing, no playing it safe, just all-out unapologetic passion. Their strong songwriting evinces post-hardcore and indie rock influences from bands like NOFX, Box Car Racer, Moneen and Further Seems Forever, though they posses both a harder edge and snazzy electronic shimmer that excites danceability.

Look out for new music from Rosedale in spring 2011. 12 Questions is pleased to feature this dynamic duo on the eve of their release party for the “Online Venting” video, Friday April 8 at the Mod Club Theater in Toronto. We’re psyched that frenetic front man Mike Liorti held still long enough to fill out the questionnaire. Check them out Friday night, but be warned, there will be dancing!

1. What is your hometown?

Brampton Ontario Canada. Suburbs of Toronto

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

The Friendly Giant

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Alex Perry, my 6’6 stunt double

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Music. Especially live. Birds eye view, birds eye view.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I’ve taken a break from reading. It fucked up my social skills. My favorite book of all time is A Million Little Pieces. Scar Tissue is a really good time as well. Next on the list is Fear and Loathing. I have a real fascination with drug addicts’ stories. It’s books like that help me never touch the stuff.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Love by Angels and Airwaves is a big one. I donno, lately I’ve been just hittin shuffle or “fate.” Let the iPod decide.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Born to Be Wild. haha I was like 6 and I hated seeing my bro ditch the ape. They were bests, straight bests.

8.  Cat person or dog person?

Cats for sure. More chill. I like dogs too.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Truth for sure. Real.

10.    How do you define sin?

Doing something to others that you wouldn’t want done to yourself. Or just not respecting someone or something and what they want.

11.    How do you define virtue?

*google searching* …OHH like list of morals. I donno. Real. That’s the best way.

12.   Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

K well, I’d be put in the wall with my family (Emmo’s fam is at same one) and instead of my headsone and writing, it’s my laptop, reinforced like the Nintendos in the McDonalds in the early 2000s, and you can open Protools and Logic sessions, check out how I do songs, videos, iMovie projects, my iTunes (my drives would be hooked up but with me in the wall). And ya, everyone will come visit me cus I have some old ‘07 Macbook chillin for all to party.

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Emerson Tavares ( The drummer of the band)

Connections:

Rosedale
@RosedaleMusic

Rosedale Video Release Party

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

