Skip to content

Ben Miller

April 14, 2011

Ben Miller

Back in the day, Ben Miller made really weird music with a band called BMMS,  really loud music with the Victory Smokes, and played records for a handful of people every Sunday night at the Palace Billiards Lounge in Missoula, Montana. He also toyed with the idea of becoming a professional folfer; he didn’t. Now, Ben is a librarian without a library sciences degree. He began his library career herding 1s and 0s at the Missoula Public Library. Somewhere along the way he decided to focus on humans instead of computers and set out for the Midwest to be a library director. After a brief stint in rural Iowa he moved north to Sauk Prairie, Wisconsin, where he currently resides with his wife and son and is the director of the Sauk City Public Library.

1. What is your hometown?

I was born in Kalispell, MT but I think I did the most growing up in Missoula.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Alan Smithee.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

My first choice would be Nicolas Cage. He’s awesome, can play any role and obviously needs the money. I mean, have you seen the remake of The Wicker Man? But realistically, I’ll have to settle for Christopher Mintz-Plasse once he can grow a beard.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

As a librarian I get this all the time. Everyone should read “Cannery Row” by John Steinbeck and “Cat’s Cradle” by Kurt Vonnegut at some point in their lives. For the Science Fiction fan I tell recommend “The Carpet Makers” by Andreas Eschbach. Teens, or those of us who still feel like teenagers, should read “Little Brother” by Cory Doctorow.

Currently, I’m reading a book called “How to Wreck a Nice Beach” which is a history of the vocoder from WWII to Hip Hop.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

I’ve been listening to the new BOAT album “Dress Like Your Idols” pretty constantly for the past week, but since the beginning of the year I’ve been going through a heavy Silkworm phase. Also, my sister-in-law and her husband turned me on to the new Avril Lavigne single “What the Hell,” which might end up being my summer jam.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Benji. I was 7 and very in touch with my emotions.

8.  Cat person or dog person?

Sometimes we dress our cat in people clothes. Do what you will with that information.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

It’s cruel to be kind and the truth hurts.

10.    How do you define sin?

Putting ketchup on a bratwurst. (Don’t tell anyone, but sometimes I sin at home when no one is looking.)

11.    How do you define virtue?

Bacon.

12.   Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

I want something simple and classy. Just white stone with the inscription: “We will meet again…during the coming zombie apocalypse.”

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

My son when he is my age.

Connections:

Ben’s favorite GIF
@bmmsben
Sauk City Public Library



No comments yet

Leave a Reply

