Skip to content

Cindy Rehm

April 27, 2011

Cindy Rehm

Cindy Rehm is a Los Angeles based artist and educator. Her commitment to the DIY aesthetic runs deep – so much so that she opened her home to the arts community, turning an upstairs bedroom of her private residence in Baltimore, Maryland into an installation space called spare room.

Currently, she co-directs Craftswoman House, a DIY feminist art venue in Pasadena, California. Cindy just launched a Kickstarter campaign to support programming Craftswoman House, which continues until May 14, 2011  (link is below).

Cindy is the recipient of an Individual Artist Fellowship in Media from the Tennessee State Arts Commission and a Learning to Love You More Grant. Her work has been shown at Woman Made Gallery, Chicago; Consolidated Works, Seattle; Goliath Visual Space, Brooklyn; Transformer Gallery, Washington; LACE, Los Angeles; and at Festival Miden, Kalamata, Greece.

12 Questions is pleased to feature Cindy and to promote the DIY spirit of Craftswoman House, and we hope you’ll do so as well.

1. What is your hometown?

New Cumberland, PA

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Mick from Carson McCuller’s “The Heart is a Lonely Hunter” I was a really shy kid and I can identify with her introspection and desire to escape her small town.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Janeane Garofalo

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

The art of Ana Mendieta, Francesca Woodman and Louise Bourgeois it’s impossible to choose a single work.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

The books currently on my nightstand: Erotism, George Bataille; Touching Feeling, Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick; Why This World: A Biography of Clarice Lispector, Benjamin Moser; and Emily Dickinson and the Labor of Clothing, Daneen Wardrop. I rarely read a book cover-to-cover and tend to read chunks at a time. I’m pretty into the Dickinson book right now.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

PJ Harvey’s Let England Shake & The XX

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

I don’t remember the last movie that made me cry, but I teared up at the final episode of Big Love. There was something really moving about seeing three women set off on new and independent journeys.

8. Cat person or dog person?

Both. I was raised as a cat person, but became a dog person too when Gromit came into my life. Gromit was my first dog and he really impacted my life in a positive way. I just lost him a few months ago at age fourteen.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Truth, though I try to be a nice person too.

10. How do you define sin?

I don’t know that I really buy into the idea of “sin.”

11. How do you define virtue?

Working hard and taking responsibility for your actions.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

I’ve never thought about having a headstone. I know I want to be cremated, I think it’s odd to keep a body intact after death. I actually never thought about what to do with the ashes. I don’t like the idea of the body or ashes in a resting place, in the end I would just like to disappear into the ether!

Connections:
CindyRehm.com
The Mouth & The Knife
Craftswoman House
Craftswoman House Kickstarter Campaign

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Launa Bacon | 12 Questions

Leave a Reply

