Skip to content

Andee Hoos

May 3, 2011

Andee & Lola Hoos

On April 6, Andee Hoos and her husband Merle became the proud parents of miss Lola Violet. Even before little L.V. arrived on the scene, Andee was a very busy lady, cutting and coloring hair at Mop Factory Salon, a two-chair shop she operates with partner Shanette Medina. Known for manageable “precision cuts” and specializing in curly do’s, Mop Factory was recently called a “tiny hot spot” by In Style magazine.

When she’s not busy at the salon or educating herself on the latest trends in style and tech for making hair awesome, Andee paints, designs jewelry, and makes handcrafts. We know Andee’s usual month-long waiting list will be even longer when she comes back after taking some time with baby Lola, but it’s well worth the wait to spend some time in the chair with this creative mama.

1. What is your hometown?

Well I was born in Ft. Collins, but have lived in the [Denver] metro area my whole life. So I would say Colorado is my hometown.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

This is an easy one…Alice from Alice In Wonderland. Every time I reread that book I see Alice in a different light as per the time in my life. It’s quite curious!

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Drew Barrymore.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Anything by my most favorite artist Wassily Kandinsky, but specifically the painting Improvisation 26.

Vasily Kandinsky "Improvisation 26"
I also absolutely adore any work by Alexander Calder. He had such childlike curiosity and wonder.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Obviously a lot of baby books. Superbaby by Jenn Berman and Brain Rules For Baby by John Medina has by far been most helpful and informative. For fun however, I strongly recommend reading Water For Elephants. I loved being taken away by memories of the circus recounted by a most charming elderly man.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Oddly enough, and something quite new to me, we have been listening to classical for its calming effects on the baby, but the last album I purchased was Young The Giant and the latest from Bad Religion and Beastie Boys.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Ha! I go to a movie on purpose to cry!! I absolutely love movies that make me cry!!! Sucker Punch made me cry tears of anger cause it sucked so bad, but that probably doesn’t count!

8. Cat person or dog person?

I love both, but I am a kitty through and through. Sadly, I lost my 16-year-old best kitty Dottie in August of last year.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Truth is my most treasured attribute in a person. I never fully trust a liar no matter how long I’ve known you or how close we are.

10. How do you define sin?

All in the perspective but it usually involves a lie.

11. How do you define virtue?

Again perspective…but it usually involves the best of intentions.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

I want to be cremated however I most want to be remembered as a loving and caring mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. Perhaps an artist I adore could mix my ashes in paint and create beautiful art with me!?

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Some of my most admired and adored women- Amy Metier, Joy Barrett, and Laurie Lynnxe Murphy.

Connections:
@MopFactorySalon
Mop Factory on Facebook

Leave a Reply

