Skip to content

Kia Ruiz

May 5, 2011

Kia Ruiz @yosoykia

Kia Ruiz  is primarily a mama to an 11-month old kiddo and wife to a man with an honorary performer certificate from Cirque du Soleil.  She works part-time at home with online communities (health/fitness, green, and mindful living) as a community manager and writer, part-time out of the home helping people get balanced as a yoga instructor, and wherever she can to take images then scurry back to her son to process them and play.  Motherhood has taught her how to be most efficient to make it back to live in her son’s world in between interacting with the mundane world.

Kia’s background is in ecology and pedagogy thus she would love to get back to water conservation as her son gets older.  Her big fun these days are in compiling conservation inspired images in times of solitude, loving on her community when she wants to be social, and being active because there is no reason to be sloth with all the sunshine and beauty of the Front Range.

1. What is your hometown?

Born and raised in L. A. with venturing off in the west for work in Sierras, Redwoods, Oregon, and Montana then Miami for grad school with work outside of the U. S. – found the best of everything with my home in the Front Range.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

The Pirate in Steinbeck’s Tortilla Flat

Steinbeck's "Tortilla Flat"

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Gah, those online programs that pick who look most like you always pick the one or two minority actresses who get work but I refuse (not saying there is anything wrong with Halle Berry, Jennifer Lopez, or Rosario Dawson). Instead I’ll go with Dorothy Lamour – a resemblance two older biddies said I had at a wedding reception once.  I was most flattered.

Dorothy Lamour

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Put me in a room of Rothko’s and my soul sings.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Currently reading My Story As Told by Water by David James Duncan and Itsy Bitsy Yoga by Helen Garabedian.

Kia's recommended books...

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Current heaviest rotation is me singing and reciting lines from vinyl I got on Record Store Day – a record I wore to death as a kiddo.  Disney’s Robin Hood.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

The Notebook – I hardly cried in my pregnancy and was hoping to stop being an emotionless robot so I finally watched this film about a year ago.  I rolled my eyes and was bored through most of it but the ending had me crying like a little bitch.

8.  Cat person or dog person?

Both.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Truth with those you know and care for, kindness with casual acquaintances.

10.    How do you define sin?

When you know you done did f*cked up but did it anyway.

11.    How do you define virtue?

Making mistakes, owning up to those mistakes, and then taking actions not to have them repeat themselves.

12.   Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

A tree or other plant sitting on my ashes or body and recycling my nutrients back to the world. It doesn’t need to say anything.

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Faatma Mehrmanesh

Connections:
@yosoykia
BhodhiBear
Ossumniss

6 Comments leave one →
  1. lorrie permalink
    May 6, 2011 22:07

    thanks for sharing this interview i got to know this amazing woman better by reading about her

  2. May 5, 2011 09:30

    Bahaha – awesome definition of “sin”! 😀

    Great interview!

  3. May 5, 2011 09:10

    I googled Dorothy, beautiful woman and interesting life!

    • Spencer K. permalink*
      May 5, 2011 09:27

      I googled her, too, when I was setting up Kia’s post. I feel like I’ve learned something great from each of our respondents!

Trackbacks

  1. 9 May 2011 | Bodhi Bear
  2. Happy Mother’s Day « 12 Questions

Leave a Reply

