Skip to content

Linda K. Holden

May 6, 2011

Mom and Becky

It probably shouldn’t be so difficult to write about someone you’ve known all your life. The difficulty seems to be that I have too  much to say about my mother, Linda K. Holden. All my life, she’s been a positive force representing how powerful a woman can be no matter what hurdles present themselves on her journey.

My mother is a radiographer, sonographer, educator, lecturer, motivational speaker, and fervent advocate for the CARE bill. With a Master’s Degree in Health Care Management from Regis University, she has held all of the highest positions with her professional organization, the American Society of Radiologic Technologists, and remains active in the organization today.
Above and beyond all that x-ray stuff, Linda is a talented crafter, genealogy enthusiast (a direct descendant of Daniel Boone), a crazy dog lady with two West Highland Terriers, and most importantly, she’s my Momma.

1. What is your hometown?

I was born in Rawlins, Wyoming, live in Glenrock, Wyoming, but my hometown is Cheyenne, Wyoming.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Wonder Woman because I am continually wondering who I am yet to be.  It is ever evolving. But with all her working tools like the truth rope and her bracelets, I could rule the world! (Love her red boots)

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Well, Liz is gone, Angelina Jolie is too busy being mommy, Julia Roberts has that vein in her forehead that pops out when she cries, and Goldie Hahn is just too thin to pull it off. So, I guess I would have to go with Olympia Dukakis or Kathy Bates. They are both my kind of women and always play the juicy roles that I admire in women.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

A Wyoming sunset. It brings balance to my soul.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Currently, I am reading trash novels that fill the time and not the mind. I have been most touched by the book of essays from NPR called, “This I Believe”. Special heart gifts are easily available in these stories.

6. What song on album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

The soundtrack of Wicked. The words of these songs helped me through division caused by divorce and I made it through the other end mostly unscathed. I would like to share with you one of the songs that helped me through some pretty tough moments.

“Who can say if I have been changed for the better, because I knew you, I have been changed for good.”

That has a lot of meaning to me as I have been changed for the good and I have grown, so even though it hurt, I am a better person for going through it and coming out of it even better.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

I can cry at a supermarket opening so this is a hard one. I cried last night watching NCIS. I am pathetic. Last movie, well, that would be UP! It is really weird when you cry at the beginning of the movie rather than at the end.

8. Cat person or dog person?

I truly love cats, but I have two adorable pups; what a dilemma. Don’t tell my dogs, ok?

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

What a dichotomy. Does one have to be more important than the other? I think they are both important and should be used with equal care and balance.

10. How do you define sin?

Anything that you do that eventually makes you sorry that you did it.

11. How do you define virtue?

Doing for others, telling no one you did it, and expecting nothing in return.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

Since I plan to be cremated, having a stone is simply not the plan. But if I did, I am sure that it would be white marble in the shape of Oscar’s garbage can and in honor  of Ms. Piggy and the Muppets it would simply say, “I hate to say good-bye. How can the world possibly go on with out me?”

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Phil Ballinger PhD, RT (R), Sal Martino PhD, RT (R), DuVonne Campbell BS RT (R)


2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    May 6, 2011 15:14

    Becky – your mom is one amazing lady! I loved meeting her at Craft Ninjas and love her answers to 12 questions. I’m a Wonder Woman kind of girl myself 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Mother’s Day « 12 Questions

Leave a Reply

