Skip to content

Linda Keralis

May 6, 2011

Linda Keralis, 1975

That’s a picture of me and my mom, Linda Keralis, on her wedding day in 1975, when she married my step-dad, Jim. Mom was widowed when I was a baby. She was only 19, just a baby herself, and so we sort of grew up together. That picture is probably my favorite of the two of us together. Mom is beautiful – she’s always had great hair, still does – and she’s holding me up high, so I can see the world the same way she does. And we’re together, looking into the future.

I admire my mom so much for her creativity, and for her strength. She’s raised three boys to be good men, and kept our family together and close. It wasn’t always easy – there was a period when dad forbade mom and me from even being in the same room with each other – but through her loyalty, tenacity, and the fierceness of her love, mom made sure we always came back together as mother and son, and eventually as friends.

In the 90s, mom had the courage to return to school for an accounting degree while working full time. She now works hard as a freelance bookkeeper, pursuing her own business and being her own boss, even though it might be easier to occupy a cube somewhere. Her example has inspired me as I pursue my own delayed education and my own enterprises.

I love that my mom is a quilter who has only finished maybe two or three quilts in twenty years. For mom the pleasure is in the process – the colors, the textures, the pattern emerging from the pieces. She’s taught me that the joy is in the journey, not necessarily at the destination. I’m blessed to have this woman in my life, and I’m proud to be her son.

1. What is your hometown?

Riverton, Wyoming

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Cate Blanchett’s Maid Marian in “Robin Hood.”

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.
Kathy Bates
4. What work of art speaks to your soul?
Mary Cassatt’s paintings of women and children, Ansel Adams’s photographs of the Grand Tetons and Trailer Camp Children,  Janet Fogg’s quilt of a bear, and the quilted landscape book cover designed by Michele Crail (for Geography & Circumstance by Spencer Keralis).
5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?
I’m reading “Cool Hand Luke” by Donn Pearce and I recommend “Pillars of the Earth” by Ken Follett and “White Oleander” by Janet Fitch.  I love books that make you want to read slowly to feel the words in your mouth.
6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?
Adele, Michelle Schocked’s “Anchorage,” She & Him’s version of “You Really Gotta Hold On Me,” Fleetwood Mac’s “Gypsy,” Etta James, and Marshall Tucker Band.
7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?
I know “Up” made me cry, but I still remember how I sobbed watching “Bambi” when I was 5 or 6.
8.  Cat person or dog person?
I can’t hurt our dog Lucy’s or our cat Boris’s feelings – so I’m both, a dog and cat person.
9. What is more important, truth or kindness?
In the long-run – big picture, truth is because it opens your heart & mind and lets you grow.  But, when someone isn’t able to hear the truth, then kindness with a silent prayer is.
10.    How do you define sin?
Harming a person or animal in any manner with intention or without regard.
11.    How do you define virtue?
A (natural or learned)  response of love, calmness and reason when a negative response would be appropriate.  (Thank you Beverly Binegar, a very classy lady.)
12.   Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?
It would be small,  rectangular, with a rounded top, and carved with a log-cabin quilt square.  It would say  “Mother of three exceptional men.”
Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?
Laura Logan
One Comment leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    May 6, 2011 15:15

    Happy Mother’s Day to Linda Keralis! I enjoy your thoughtful answers to the 12 questions.

Leave a Reply

