Skip to content

Tia Dunn

July 27, 2011

Tia Dunn

New media provides artists with endless opportunities for realignment and reinvention, and Tia Dunn takes full advantage of those opportunities. Tia is a freelance digital creative & art director working across video, branding, storytelling, photography and a variety of digital projects. She’s worked on documentaries for the BBC in London, created music videos in Italy, told stories for Magnum Photos in New York, reported on fashion for ELLE TV in London, and created microsites for NatGeoTV. She is now exploring individual collaborations with artists on experimental projects and is interested in curating as a step back from creating.

1. What is your hometown?

Lost in transit

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Holiday Golightly. In Truman Capote’s book her calling card reads “Holiday Golightly, Travelling”. The character renamed herself several times in taking on new life-guises. It’s something I identify with.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

I don’t know. I wouldn’t go for someone who resembles me physically. If I could cross Marilyn Monroe with Blondie and Bjork I think my ego would like that person to play me.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Too transient. When I was in my teens I remember staring for hours at Munch’s “Puberty”. Sometime’s it’s a song that creates a shift in me. Most recently it would be one of Tracey Emin’s quotes that she had neoned. It reads, simply: “I can feel you smile”. It reminds me of the time I told someone “I love you” for the first time while they were sleeping and I felt their cheeks move to make room for a smile.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Just finished a book that has had a really big impact on my habits: “To Die For” by Lucy Siegle. I have a pile of books that I’m waiting to start or are partially read. Recently I started on Huxley’s “The Doors of Perception” but it’s early days and deserves total concentration. I should be on a book-buying ban until I clear my unread collection but yesterday I found “All you need is love: the story of popular music” by Tony Palmer. Written in 1976, and a pure gem. I couldn’t resist!

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

I used to love making my own playlists and researching/discovering then downloading new music. Now I am going through a phase in which I allow myself to follow the recommendations of friends via Facebook or I follow my favourite music blogs via Hype Machine.. I can’t say I’m in love with anything new right now, this makes me sad. Having said that, the last track that a friend had posted on their FB wall did grab my attention was: “Hallogallo” by Neu… not so new though!

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

That’s tricky. I think I have an issue with my tear-ducts ever since having laser treatment to correct my vision. Over a year has passed but I still have difficulty creating my own tears so each time I feel emotional my eyes sting and my rational self tells me that it will hurt too much so then I stop myself. This is true in life as in with movies. I remember sitting with my friend Lucy Paola and crying to that film about Edith Piaf but that is going back a few years and we were both drinking scotch at the back of the cinema. I also remember the last album that made me cry, quite randomly, on a bus… again before the eye op. It took me back to a place where I was crying daily. It was Pulp’s “Freaks” and it no longer has the same effect. I must have dealt with my emotions!

8. Cat person or dog person?

Grew up with cats but always wanted a dog. Have difficulty committing long-term to either and don’t want to deal with the poop. They are fabulous creatures each and every one of them.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

I want to say kindness but I know truth is not always kind so I need to say truth. Kind truth is the antithesis of what my grandmother believes in, her motto is “tough love”.

10. How do you define sin?

Doing something that prevents you from looking at yourself in the mirror or that makes you double over with pain and remorse when you are reminded of it.

11. How do you define virtue?

Something out there… I have never claimed to feel virtue and don’t know if I need to. Sometimes the so-called virtuous irritate me.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

Don’t visit me, no flowers… it’s got to be ashes all the way. I didn’t live my life with roots so I don’t intend to live my afterlife that way either.

Connections:
lampgirl.com
@lampgirl
Tia Dunn on Facebook

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

