Skip to content

Safe Boating is No Accident

August 24, 2011

Safe Boating Is No Accident at Brass Tree Sessions, photo by Luke Bender

If someone were to ask us if we like our indie pop with stand-up bass and clarinet, we’d cheerfully reply, “Yes, please!” And then we’d go listen to Denver foursome Safe Boating is No Accident.  Noisy and jangly, quirky and edgy all at once, the Safe Boaters occupy a musical space somewhere between Sonic Youth and the Magnetic Fields but still manage to sound greater than the sum of their influences. They achieve a synthesis of styles and sounds that is more novel than novelty.

At press time, Safe Boating is No Accident is scheduled to appear at 11:00 on Friday on the Flobots Stage at the Denver Afterdark Music Festival on Friday. We hope you’ll venture out to check them out, along with all the other great Denver bands there with them! We’ll be there to spill Kahlua on you in the pit. Please don’t punch us.

Vocalist Leighton Peterson responded on behalf of the band.

1. What is your hometown?

Norfolk, Nebraska. Two hours or so north of Lincoln/Omaha. Norfolk is also home to Johnny Carson, the voice of Tony the Tiger, and Zager and Evans, a 60’s folk rock outfit known best for the song “In the Year 2525.” There are two giant billboards of Johnny Carson that greet you at both highway entrances.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Marc Maron

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Although he would be too old to play me in a movie by the time I actually do something with my life worthy of a biopic, I would pick John Cusack. I’ve been told there is a resemblance, but in my mind’s eye I look more like Gerard Depardieu in his most swollen, wine-bloated form.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

I’m not certain what you mean by ‘soul’ but I have a wide range of intense, complicated and uncomplicated emotions that can be easily manipulated by anything from avant-garde performance art to most Disney/Pixar films.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I’m currently reading “Actual Air,” a book of poetry by David Berman of the Silver Jews. It’s really great.

I always recommend “Infinite Jest” by David Foster Wallace. That book changed my life and by that I mean it changed how I perceive nearly everything. We took our name from a film that one of the characters directed in “Infinite Jest.”

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

I’ve been listening to a lot of early-period Elvis Costello. His first five albums are genius. I find myself coming back to my Fela Kuti albums quite a bit as well. I really haven’t been listening to a whole lot of new music outside of Denver. People still think aping the 1980s is OK for some reason.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

“Tree of Life” – that movie could have come from the world of “Infinite Jest.” Just an incredible film that changes the definition of what films can even be. Deeply personal and epic at the same time. I cried harder than I had since my dad died. In public, no less.

8.  Cat person or dog person?

I love both. I think I’m becoming allergic to cats, though.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Kindness. Truth is subjective.

10.    How do you define sin?

I grew up catholic, so this is kind of hard to answer. I guess sin to me means making a conscious decision to contradict your own nature and values. To ignore what you think is right in service of some false, abstract idea of what life should be.

11.    How do you define virtue?

Acting with kindness.

12.   Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

I’ll probably be cremated or just disappear into the wilderness and let the coyotes eat me. Although if I do have a headstone I’d like it to read:

“Well, that happened.”

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Oh man, I don’t know. Doo Crowder?

Connections:
Safe Boating is No Accident on Facebook
@SafeBoating

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

