Skip to content

Adam Sikorski

October 31, 2011

Adam Sikorski

Denver graphic artist and designer Adam Sikorski has been making waves with his Coloradical! designs. Adam’s been screen printing and selling tees since 2005 when he discovered people were much more likely to buy his art if it was on a t-shirt. Somewhere along the way he abandoned his dream to be a train hobo and figured artist/designer/entrepreneur would be a better path.

The Coloradical! line started as an offshoot of the Adam Sikorski line in the summer of 2010 and it’s been a hit ever since. The tags on Adam’s t-shirts suggest that someone send him homemade cookies and he means it.

Adam just launched AdamSikorski.com as an online store for his tees and home for the Coloradical! line. On the site he declares, “this isn’t simply about a business to me; it’s my art, my hobby, and my love.” We here at 12 Questions can totally get behind that, and we think you should too. Read on:

1. What is your hometown?

I grew up in Aurora and proudly call Denver home.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

I feel like Snoopy has a pretty good life outlook.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

You know how when you think about Hunter S. Thompson you actually remember Johhny Depp as Hunter S. Thompson? So, I’m going with Fresh Prince era Will Smith as the Fresh Prince As Adam Sikorski.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Lately I’ve been claiming that audio visual combination performance is the highest form of art today. Nothing hanging in a museum or gallery has ever come close to making me feel the way the Daft Punk pyramid or seeing The Faint did. I just saw Amon Tobin’s ISAM Live and that was pretty ridiculous.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Somehow I graduated high school without anyone ever forcing me to read “The Grapes of Wrath”, I was even in honors English all four years. I just took that book in and it is one of the most solid pieces of literature I’ve ever read. It seems even more pertinent in the economic era we are in now. Highly recommended.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Purity Ring- “Belispeak”. I just caught these guys opening for Com Truise and Neon Indian and they blew me away. One of the best performances I’ve seen in a while, and definitely developed a crush on the singer. This seems to be the only song they have available. I’m expecting the LP of the year from this band, whenever that happens.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Well, since I’m so very tough and physically strong I of course don’t cry at movies or generally ever show emotion. But I got a little choked up at the end of “Milk”.

8. Cat person or dog person?

I don’t want to own pets but I’m voting dog. No disrespect to cats though.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Truth. If you don’t lay it out straight then no ones grows or learns. But i guess you’ll get further with kindness…

10. How do you define sin?

Oh I just let the televangelists define that for me. It’s a huge time saver.

11. How do you define virtue?

I’m generally of the position that people should be trying to be their ideal person. You can’t always succeed at it, and the ideal changes over time, but striving towards that goal for the self keeps you on a virtuous path. Then again a lot of people’s ideal is some shit house celebrity or guy on steroids or something, so that model doesn’t work. Ok, actions that promote the well being of you, your family and friends, those around you, and those affected by you are positive and thus hold virtue. Let’s go with that.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

I don’t want one. Burn my body and distribute the ashes to my friends. Hopefully someone will spread some from a mountain top and someone else will get drunk and stick some in someone else’s drink or snort a line or me or something.

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Neal Cassady?

Connections:
AdamSikorski.com

 

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. adam sikorski

Leave a Reply

