Skip to content

Nat&Marie

November 7, 2011

Nat&Marie by Billy Archos

Photo by Billy Archos

Nat Tubanos and Marie Nicola are the sassiest sweethearts to ever take a byte out of the world wide web with their Internet Aftershow Nat&Marie. When internet culture goes “Pop” it usually means anything can happen, especially when two Canucks dissect the goings online – streamed live and unscripted around the world. Featuring the “Hot5”, “Will it go Viral?” and latest viral videos, the biggest ceWEBrities (digital celebrities) and the craziest topics trending from India to America, Nat&Marie are first to cover it all while throwing in a few musical guests just for kicks. This is one interactive night of e-tainment that you don’t want to miss.

Nat&Marie is the only Internet Aftershow you gotta watch live, every Wednesday night at 9pm EST (6pm PST) on NatandMarie.com 

Nat & Marie were nominated for 12 Questions by a reader, Nila. Thanks for the nomination, and keep ’em coming!

1. What is your hometown?

Marie

Summerside, Prince Edward Island

Nat

Grew up in Toronto until the age of 9, then spent most of my childhood and teen years in good ol’ suburbia (Newmarket, ON).

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Marie

Jasmin from Aladdin? Always sneaking out late, getting in trouble, trying to run with the boys, telling folks off, best friend is a cat, like gold jewelry…

Nat

I REALLY thought you’d say Liz Lemon, Marie 😉 Hmm, as a kid I always used to identify with Claudia from the Baby-sitter’s Club, cause she was the artsy, funky, outgoing token Asian. But these days? I mostly just want Doctor Who to be real, so I can be his Companion.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Marie

Megan Fox. Because she’s my twin. I was always the prettier one tho.

Nat

Cate Blanchett is my FAVOURITE. Unfortunately, there’s no amount of makeup in the world that would make a woman like her resemble a woman like me. Next one on the list is Anne Hathaway – she also looks nothing like me, but at least she’s brunette, so #WIN:)

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Marie

Culinary Art. Preferably from the Southern States or France.

Nat

This is a toughie. If I could choose a medium, I’d say music most strongly speaks to my soul.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Marie

“The Single Girl’s To-Do List” by Lindsey Kelk. Lindsey joined us late one night on the show after her book launch party. I’m sure she was exhausted, but I was so flattered that she made the time. Plus her book features a Canadian in it and that’s always fun.

Nat

“Three Cups of Tea” by Greg Mortenson is the last one I read. I don’t think I’ve ever been so moved (or cried more) by the acts of superhuman feat, inspiring philanthropy and unyielding dedication displayed in this novel. It’s about a mountaineer turned humanitarian and brings you into a part of the world Westerners know very little about and think about even less (northern Pakistan and Afghanistan). Someone has to buy the rights for this book and turn it into a movie. Pronto.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Marie

I think I’m the only girl in the world who doesn’t have an iPod… but, on my Blackberry I’m listening to a mix that anyone can also catch on my Hype Machine page. Since @PhilVille came on our show I can’t stop the boogie when I hear Kylie Minogue’s “Get Outta My Way”… no joke. Nat, I really want to be in one of his videos 😦

Nat

And we shall be, Marie!:) I’m always on shuffle to be honest – I like being surprised. These days the song I’ve been listening to most is “Beautiful People” by Chris Brown. It may be my favourite summer track next to LMFAO’s “Party Rock Anthem.”

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Marie

Honestly? *sigh* I will cry at the drop of a hat, including on the emotional last episode of “Bad Girls Club” – because, you know why? They weren’t really bad girls, just misunderstood. I cried at the end of “Sucker Punch”… so unfair.

Nat

I’m with Marie, I cry at anything that tugs at the heartstrings. But the last film that made me cry may have been “Love & Other Drugs” – couples facing turmoil and undying love always makes me weep.

8. Cat person or dog person?

Marie

Cat. *meow*

Nat

Dog! *woof*

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Marie

Truth. Listen, if you want to be kind, you gotta be straight. If you can’t call someone up, talk to their face or let them know how you feel, well, then you’re a shady person and chances are you and I will have a problem.

Nat

Neither is effective without the other, in my opinion. I don’t think “truth” in the form of tough love is the be all and end all, nor do I think kindness without substance does anyone any favours. You need a balance of the two for it to truly be positive, respectful and have impact.

10. How do you define sin?

Marie

A handy card the gov’t issues so I can get paid and apply for grants. 😀

Nat

I dunno…Bibilcal?

11. How do you define virtue?

Marie

My mom?

Nat

Mother Theresa?

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

Marie

It would probably read “I knew this would happen”

Nat

This is truly a question I have never in my life ever thought about. Maybe erect some badass life-size sculpture with the inscription “The unexamined life is not worth living” – Socrates. It’s flashy, it’s philosophical, speaks to my Greek roots, all ingredients of who I am. Psh, looks like I’m set! ;P

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Marie

Nancy Upton – she took on American Apparel and kind of won. After winning their online, plus sized modelling contest, AA disqualified her because they said they wanted a winner who was beautiful on the inside and out. She caused an international ruckus and had a very public back and forth with the clothing manufacturer… who in turn invited her out to the factory, but not after they covered up some questionable content on the walls. She’s pretty awesome. Plus, she’s now signed a book deal and is writing her first book… I think it had to do with this nuttiness. Anyway, she’s who I vote for. I don’t think she’s done a 12-questions before either.

Nat

The Campagna Brothers. Matt and Jeff. They wrote/produced/directed the film “Six Reasons Why” (a post-apocalyptic Western) and sold it in a quarter-million dollar bidding war. Now one of them is in LA producing their second film while the other is living in Panama for a year writing his first non-fiction novel. Both are fascinating characters to explore.

Connections:
natandmarie.com
@NatandMarie
Nat&Marie on Tumblr

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 14:09

    I was SO excited to be on Nat & Marie! Almost as excited as I am to completely crash the show next time in Toronto. Hopefully awake this time…

    • Spencer K. permalink*
      November 10, 2011 14:43

      Thanks for visiting, Lindsey! We’d love to feature you as well.

  2. Nila permalink
    November 7, 2011 10:04

    Love these girls. They are like Tosh.0 meets Diggnation! Can’t wait for the show this week! Big big fans!!

    • Spencer K. permalink*
      November 10, 2011 14:43

      Thanks for the nomination, Nila! We’re so pleased they responded.

Trackbacks

  1. Nancy Upton « 12 Questions
  2. Matt & Jeff Campagna « 12 Questions

Leave a Reply

