Skip to content

James Faulkner

December 5, 2011

James Faulkner

For as long as Toronto singer-songwriter James Faulkner can remember, music has been an integral part of his life. This relationship started of with tickling the ivories at the age of 6, but later blossomed into a love affair with the guitar.

James has played with various ensembles and toured the Caribbean with the Stingray Showband, playing music on the finest ships Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines had to offer. After returning to land in 2007, James began working on forging his own sound, which draws on his classical guitar studies, and mixes it up with modern pop music. James has been playing around the Toronto area (including a show at the legendary Massey Hall) slowly building up a fan base, in anticipation of the release of his first album, The Facts of Life.

1. What is your hometown?

Born and raised in Mississauga just on the outskirts of Streetsville

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Jack Black from “School of Rock”!

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Jason Statham (although we may have to alter the English accent LOL)

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

The Musical “RENT” really made an impact on me. I was involved in the BMT production at Rose Theatre in Brampton last year around this time, and I still remember it as though it was yesterday. Not only did it do extremely well for a community theatre project (finished third overall in the online Toronto Broadway Awards behind “Jersey Boys” and “Rock of Ages”) but it was the message of the work that engrained into to me. I try to live my life by the theme of No Day But Today! it’s a powerful idea that has helped me pursue my passion of being a working musician and recording artist.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

“The World in Six Songs” – Daniel Levitin. This is a book I started once but never had the chance to finish, but I now I am revisiting. This is an awesome book because it explains how our civilization is a direct result from music creation. It’s a great and easy read, which does not use really big words to describe the ideas. I originally took interest in this novel because doing my thesis proposal on how children are affected behaviour wise. The bottom line is that without music or the arts in general, our life and existence would not be as we know it today.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

“Why Georgia” – John Mayer

“Seasons of Love” – RENT

“Lean On Me” – Bill Withers

“Human Nature” – Michael Jackson

“Live” – Birds of Pray (the album)

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

I hate to admit this but I can be a complete sucker for those super cheesy moments in movies. The last one that made me cry was in the ending of “Rent” was when Mimi recovers from her illness from living on the streets and her and the rest of the cast are signing the reprise to “No Day But Today”! Again it was sappy but the message of the whole work really hit home with me!

8. Cat person or dog person?

I am a total dog person! Cat’s have too much attitude. Dogs are always happy to see you!! 🙂

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

I believe truth is more important, but there is always a way to deliver it in a method which can be encompassed with kindness.

10. How do you define sin?

Someone doing anything that they would not want to happen to themselves. I am not a total religious person but I believe if everyone followed the 12 commandments, we would have a perfect world. The other option is to just follow the golden rule: Do unto others and you would have them do to you. A great quote to live by.

11. How do you define virtue?

Virtue is the ability to be able to look yourself in the mirror each morning with a clear conscience. It’s also the ability to admit your wrong regardless of the outcomes or consequences that await

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

I am sure the design would be something related to music, however not quite sure what it would look like. It terms of what it would say, I would have the following quote which my grandfather always told me: It’s up to you! To many people are looking for the easy way out, and that the end of the day it’s hard work that will always pays off. On the day I leave, this is the message I want to leave behind.

Connections:
@jamesdfaulkner
James Faulkner

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

