Skip to content

Paint

December 19, 2011

Paint

Paint was formed by singer/guitarist and social activist Robb Johannes in Toronto in 2009. They quickly accumulated critical praise and a devoted audience for their infectiously energetic live performances and shoegaze-pop hooks. Since the release of their debut Can You Hear Me?, they have played over 100 shows including North by Northeast, Canadian Music Week, Hamilton Music Awards and New Music West, and been voted a listener-favourite on 102.1 The Edge.

Paint’s new album, Where We Are Today, was recorded and produced by Ian Smith at Catherine North Studios and mastered by Joe Lambert in Brooklyn. Influenced by Britpop and New Wave, “Where We Are Today” is dynamic and pop-focused. It’s a step away from the “wall of sound,” and towards more intricate and mature musicality and songwriting.

Paint are (left to right in the photo) Andre Dey on drums, Mandy Dunbar on guitar and vocals, Robb Johannes on guitar and vocals, and Marcus Warren on bass.  Robb responded on behalf of the band.

1. What is your hometown?

I grew up between Vancouver and Toronto. I currently consider Toronto home. When no one from Vancouver is reading.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Steven Hyde from That ’70s Show.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

I would probably have the most fun partying with Johnny Depp if he studied me. That’s all I would care about. Besides, he can pull off anyone, can’t he?

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Edward Munch’s “The Scream,” and U2’s “Achtung Baby.”

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Living has become so much more exciting that I have pretty much stopped reading. Life makes for better stories.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

My turntable is spinning a lot of Primary Colours and Skying by The Horrors. On vinyl. Of course.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

I don’t have the attention span for movies anymore. Music makes me cry enough anyways.

8. Cat person or dog person?

Dog. I have a 2-year old boxer named Hannah. She’s my rock.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Truth isn’t always kind and that’s what makes it more important. Unless you’re a post-modernist.

10. How do you define sin?

I’m an atheist. Sin doesn’t exist.

11. How do you define virtue?

Virtue is being able to love everyone and everything equally and unconditionally. So, virtue is being a dog.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

I’d rather be cremated and have my friends smoke my ashes. But if I had to have an actual headstone, it would include the Bill Hicks adage: “It’s just a ride.” And I wouldn’t want my name on it. Just the word “Figment.”

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Oscar Wilde and Ian Curtis, but that will never happen. So David Bowie.

Connections:
Paint
@Paintband

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

