Skip to content

Nate “Igor” Smith

January 16, 2012

Nate Smith‘s blog isn’t just party photography. Driven By Boredom is about Nate Smith. And really, you shouldn’t probably call him Nate Smith either – he’s been called Igor since 1996. And don’t ask him why he goes by Igor.What you should know is that Igor’s obsession with photography and film is what keeps Driven By Boredom alive. You see, boredom is the impetus that motivates Igor.

In the 90’s, Igor started documenting the DC punk scene shooting photos and for over a decade the music industry has provided him with a wealth of opportunities to be in the right place at the right time. All the hard work has paid off too because, since 2008, Igor makes his living doing freelance photography.

He takes insult from those that think that equipment makes the photographer. Igor has an inherent relationship with his camera and it shows – he takes damn good, fun pictures.

1. What is your hometown?

The DC suburb – Alexandria, VA

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Despite having nothing in common with him at all (I don’t drink, I am unreasonably attractive and I have never once worked in a Post Office) I feel a great amount of kinship with Bukowski’s Hank Chinaski.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

He might be a little old for it but John Cusack is the only man for the job.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

No specific works off the top of my head but I have been really into Ed Templeton’s photography recently.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I think I am about to reread Rum Diary. It is one of my favorite novels of all time and I just watched the movie and realized I don’t remember it as well as I should. It’s been a decade since I last read it. I read mostly non fiction though. A book on hockey fighting called The Code is the last thing I read on my iPad and a book called Born To Run is by my bedside but I haven’t started it quite yet.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

I don’t have an iPod but I am listening to Al Green right now as I type this. On my record player is the new Void album Dischord put together from found demo tapes from the early 80’s. My friend Donald Glover just dropped his new album Camp under the name Childish Gambino. I ordered it on Amazon but it hasn’t come yet but I listened to it on Spotify and it’s real solid. I also have been listening to Goblin by Tyler the Creator a lot recently.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Probably the last movie I saw. It’s really weird, in real life I can count the times I have cried on one hand in the last decade but I will start tearing up during a fabric softener commercial. 50/50 fucked me up pretty good.

8.  Cat person or dog person?

I am horribly allergic to cats so I kinda hate them unless they are tiny kittens. I fucking love dogs and my one regret about my insane lifestyle is that I can’t possibly take care of a dog and do what I do for a living.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Truth. Always.

10.    How do you define sin?

I don’t.

11.    How do you define virtue?

I’d probably just Google it.

12.   Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

I was just in New Orleans and I kept thinking about how much I want to be buried above  ground in a mausoleum. I don’t really care what my headstone says, I just want a little apartment to hang out in when I am dead.

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Either one of those really excitable twins from Antiques Road Show.

Connections:

Driven by Boredom
Driven by Boredom Tumblr
@drivenbyboredom 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

