Skip to content

Kim Boekbinder

February 1, 2012

                                                                                                                                                Photo by Shami Kiely

You’ll be amazed by Kim Boekbinder. She’s a chanteuse whose voice will tug at your heartstrings with pure, earnest clarity. And there’s no high tech knob turning to make her sound that way – she’s the real deal. She’s fearlessly stunning. But it’s not just her voice that makes up this talent. Boekbinder is a performer, composer, musician, and visual artist. No genre or definition will contain her.

Using Kickstarter in 2010, Boekbinder was able to debut her solo album, “The Impossible Girl”, with the help of her fans. She raised $20,000, giving her the opportunity to record with legendary producer Sean Slade and engineer Benny Grotto. Her approach to making this album is an example of success stories that can result from grassroots fundraising.

Boekbinder is hanging out in Australian now having adventures, but she’s sure to return to the US. And when she does, jump on getting tickets to her shows. It’s not to be missed.

1. What is your hometown?

I was born in Montreal, Québec (Canada) but left when I was very small. I’ve moved a lot. My hometown is probably Nevada City, CA. It’s the place where there were witnesses to my awkwardly painful teenage years and the place I miss and dread the most.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Myself. I make it all up everyday.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

For a hip indie movie it would be Charlotte Gainsbourg. For a more mainstream movie it would be Kate Winslet. Or Adrien Brody. Wait… Stop the presses! Tilda Swinton all the way. Forever and ever.

Tilda Swinton via fanpop.com

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

I feel uncomfortable with the concept of “souls.” But there are pieces of music that make my whole body tremble like all my atoms are oscillating all together in a pattern. The second movement of Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 5 has always done that. I used to lay on the floor next the speaker and listen to it on repeat for hours and hours. I play guitar now but when I was in my teens I played piano passionately. My teacher was convinced I would be a world renowned piano player. You would never know that now though as I can barely play at all. Lack of finances and an unstable living situation made access to pianos difficult. Luckily guitars are very transportable.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I’m reading “Program or be Programmed” by Douglas Rushkoff, “Starship Troopers” by Robert Heinlein, and “The Rocks Remain” by Gavin Maxwell – it’s about otters! I just finished China Mieville’s “The Iron Council” and I recommend it to revolutionaries who love the fantastic.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

I’ve been listening to random albums from Bandcamp.com where I can go and browse and find new music. It is a great way to discover and support musicians of all kinds.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

I don’t remember. But I’m pretty miffed that in Australia (where I am now) American movies take forever to come out and I really want to see the new Muppet Movie. I’ll probably cry while watching that.

8.  Cat person or dog person?

I’ve been a pterodactyl person lately. Or maybe a Tigerdactyl! Which I guess makes me a cat person. What about otters? Can I have them too?

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Truth. But not when used as a weapon. Kindness also gets used as a weapon. Humans will use anything to hurt others.

10.    How do you define sin?

Intent to harm for harm’s sake. Acting on hatred.

11.    How do you define virtue?

Staying true to the course you set for yourself when you had time and safety and space and love to set it. Life can get so complicated and it’s easy to get distracted or discouraged. I often have to remind myself that in a better time I saw fit to set myself on this path and even though it’s hard now or something shiny and attractive has come to tempt me, I (and the world in general) will be most rewarded by continuing the motion I started on a better day.

12.   Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

TIGERDACTYL!

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Tilda Swinton

Connections:

Kim Boekbinder 
@KimBoekbinder

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

