Skip to content

Sid Madrid

February 17, 2012

Introduction by Tim Davids

I first met Sid Madrid in a back alley behind the now-defunct Club Mystery, and after introducing himself to me, very quietly, with his hood up and hat pulled low, he slowly delivered a monologue about the pros and cons of smoking cigarettes before slinking inside, to a back corner booth, where he spent the next half-hour beating his head while I tried to coax interview answers out of him for the promo video I’d been hired to shoot and edit.

The showcase that night eventually devolved into a series of brawls and an early closing time, and while that can easily be blamed on a heavy attendance of liquored up hooligans, I was there, and I happen to know everyone was fairly calm before Sid got on stage. It turns out that this dude’s quiet, calm moments before a show are not unlike a deer, holding still, about to dart from danger – but replace “holding still” with “quietly smoking” and “darting from danger” with “complete insanity like you’ve never seen before.” Some performers leave it all on the floor, with a crowd of 15 or 1500, and Sid is one of them. As though born of rhythm, he started playing music at 10 years old, and started performing as a teenager – usually at venues he was too young to get into as a fan.

His resume is pages and pages of side projects and collaborations – all he does is grind. He just released his debut album “Sid Step Sessions”, along with a cousin album, “Free Sides”, and is slated for tons more this year, including collabs with hiphop group The Staff and metal band Midknight Run, as well as a long-term multimedia collaboration with me- mostly borne of late night calls starting with “Yo, bruhv, I got this fuckin’ mad crazy idea.”

Yeah, I got some bias, considering after 4 years I’d call this guy one of my closest friends, but the truth is – there’s no local artist I’m more excited about. Sid pushes boundaries. He redefines. Sid *is* hiphop.

 1. What is your hometown?

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?


Henry Spencer of David Lynch’s Eraserhead

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Maybe Samuel L Jackson or Shia Lebouf!!! Seriously tho, I’m vain but I’m not that vain. (Have yet to find a cat to match my rugged masculinity and mysterious demeanor. Calm down its called humor.)

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?


Banksy did several pieces on the Wall Of Separation. This is my favorite…..

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Dancing In The Streets: Motown And The Cultural Politics Of Detroit. (I’m a huge fan of anything that comes out of Detroit. From Motown to Iggy and The Stooges, to Esham and The White Stripes, The Motor City has no shortage of talent)

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Die Antwoord $O$, Lee Scratch Perry and The Upsetters; Blackboard Jungle, D-Lux Dropz, and anything from DJ Swamp. Oh yeah and Klaus Nomi’s Za Bakdaz.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry? 


Sidney Lumet’s The Pawnbroker.

The film shed a lot of light on a very dark part of humanity that was not often spoke on at the time of its release. It was a very raw and emotionally gripping film. I teared up like Al Capone at the opera. (No bullshit)

8. Cat person or dog person?

DOGG!! (With two Gs)

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Truth. Kindness can sometimes kill, while the truth always sets you free.

10. How do you define sin?

I’m not a religious person, therefore I don’t believe in SIN. Sin is something that is defined by the individual who perceives it. Generally sin is associated with something wrong, or bad. I stay away from religious ideals. Put in the wrong mind they can be dangerous.

11. How do you define virtue?

Maintaining a high moral standard that is not swayed by anything or any one.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

No Tombstone. I would like to have my body thrown over the Golden Gate Bridge and eaten by sharks. No Seriously I don’t want my body to be found so people still say I’m alive like 50 years after my death. So its Golden Gate or Corpse M.I.A. . Both sound pretty fly…

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

1. Ai Wei Wei – (Chinese Activist/ Artist)

2. Tim Tebow- (That one dude who plays for that one team, yeah that guy)

3. Kool Keith- (Godfather of the eccentric style of hip hop that everyone seems to be on these days)

4. ZEZ- (Tattoo Artist and Cosmic Sage. Won the award for most haters in a year)

5. Digital Grampa 2000- (Avant Garde Noise artist)

6. Midknight Run- (Metal Band, musical force.)

Connections:

Sid Madrid Sound Cloud

Sid Madrid Facebook

Sid Madrid Tumblr

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

