Skip to content

Andy Hedges

April 18, 2012

Andy Hedges

Hailing from Lubbock, TX, Andy Hedges is a reciter, songster and guitarist. For the last dozen years or so he has entertained audiences all over the West with his classic cowboy recitations, clean guitar work, and cowboy folk music. He has performed at The National Cowboy Poetry Gathering in Elko, Nevada, The Texas Cowboy Poetry Gathering, and countless cowboy gatherings, theaters, festivals, and concert venues around the West.

Andy has also released two cowboy poetry albums, and in 2004 debuted his first music album, “City Boys.” In 2009 Andy teamed-up with songwriter, Andy Wilkinson on a joint album project, “Welcome to the Tribe” (Yellowhouse Music, 2009) which received the prestigious Western Heritage “Wrangler” Award for Outstanding Traditional Western Album by the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum.

Andys Hedges and Wilkinson have released three other albums: “Long Ways from Home” in 2010, “Mining the Motherlode” in 2011, and “The Outlands” in 2012. In each of these joint projects, the young Andy Hedges has sought out the old while the senior Andy Wilkinson has crafted the new, all collaboratively arranged and laid down with the freshness and edge of real time recording.

For us, this bridging of the old and the new is the real spirit of the American West, and that’s what contemporary Cowboy Poetry culture is all about.

1. What is your hometown?

I grew up in Tokio, Texas which is really just a crossroads. When I was growing up all that was there was a few houses, a post office, and a Baptist church. The post office closed when I was a kid.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Sam Galloway from O. Henry’s story, The Last of the Troubadours.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Can I choose Woody from Toy Story?

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

I like art that my friends make like my singing partner, Andy Wilkinson’s paintings that have graced our last three album covers (and also his homemade Christmas cards) or my wife’s photography. I also like a random painting of a bird that my wife found at an estate sale. I don’t who the artist was but the colors are funky and I enjoy seeing it every day.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I am currently reading Black Cowboys of Texas, edited by Sara H. Massey. I always recommend Amusing Ourselves to Death by Neil Postman.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

I tend to shuffle my entire music library which has lots of 1920s and 30s music and lots of Bob Dylan. My two newest additions are Songs & Stories by Guy Clark and Leaving Eden by The Carolina Chocolate Drops.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

I don’t watch many movies but ever since my daughter was born (7 months ago), anything sad about children makes me cry.

8. Cat person or dog person?

Let’s just say that I was one time kicked out of a hat shop for saying that cats don’t go to heaven. True story.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

You can’t have one without the other.

10. How do you define sin?

Putting other things in the place of Jesus.

11. How do you define virtue?

The life of Jesus.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

To live is Christ, to die is gain.

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Ramblin’ Jack Elliot

Connections:
Andy Hedges & Andy Wilkinson

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

