Skip to content

Dave Hill

May 21, 2012


Dave Hill is a phenomenon. A quadruple threat from Cleveland! As a writer, comedian, musician, and actor, Dave’s been blowing minds in the New York comedy scene for a while now. In 2007, Variety named him one of the top 10 comics to watch. His stage show, The Dave Hill Explosion at Upright Citizens Brigade Theatres in New York and Los Angeles is proof of his prowess. He’s hosted amazing celebrities like Sandra Bernhard and Ira Glass. And like any good multi-talented fellow, Dave’s got his own podcast too. Dave Hill’s Podcasting Incident boasts of great guests and really funny discussions about everything from pitbulls and cookies to body dysmorphia. Rumor has it he shreds on guitar too.

Dave’s got a new book coming out tomorrow, Tasteful Nudes:…and Other Misguided Attempts at Personal Growth and Validation, via St. Martin’s Press. It’s described as a book with a little bit of everything – even some naked people and stolen meat. Obviously, if you don’t buy and read Dave’s book, you’re a damn fool.

1. What is your hometown?

Cleveland, Ohio.  Technically, I’m from the mean streets of University Heights, an East Side suburb.  I still go there a lot and hang out with my dad but he’s moving in a couple weeks so I’m basically screwed.  On the bright side for the future Northeastern Ohio homeowner, my boyhood home is for sale.  Whoever buys it can keep whatever crap of mine is still there.  It would save me the hassle of having to go clear it out like my dad keeps asking.  Not sure what his problem is.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Jason from the “Friday the 13th” movies.  I like to walk in the woods and I can get really irrational sometimes.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Justin Timberlake.  Is there anything that guy can’t do?

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

It would be hard to pick just one work of art, but I will say I always like a nice suit of armor.  I also love Barry McGee.  He mixes painting and illustration with graffiti and whatever else.  It’s dark, funny, and beautiful at the same time.  Kind of like armor, come to think of it.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I read it a couple months ago, but I really dug Tokyo Vice by Jake Adelstein.  He’s an American guy from Missouri who went to Japan for college and wound up the first American to work for a Japanese newspaper as a Japanese language reporter over there.  If you’re into journalism, organized crime, Japan, whores, or any combination of those things, you will not be able to put it down. 

 At the moment, I’m kind of bouncing around between books but not really committing to anything.  I wish Dick Cavett would just finish a new book already.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

I’ve been pretty obsessed with Ghost from Sweden lately.  In case you haven’t heard them, they play this dark, 70s style hard rock that’s also really poppy at the same time.  That would be enough on its own, but then they all dress up in monk robes, except for the singer, who dresses up like a satanic pope, which is even better.  Their lyrics are all about Satan, something I find endlessly entertaining as an Irish Catholic guy.  They are my new favorite band.  I even bought one of their T-shirts. 

 I also really like Alessi’s Ark and Lucy Wainwright Roche.  They’re both folk-based singer-songwriters, something I’m not usually into, but they’re both just nailing it so hard I love it.  

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Misery.  I can’t believe Kathy Bates did all that mean stuff to James Caan.  I mean, he didn’t do shit to deserve all that.

8. Cat person or dog person?

I’m a dog person all the way.  I mostly say that because I’m allergic to cats and, despite their overall adorability, I tend to associate them with swollen eyes, not being able to breath, and having to leave someone’s house before any actual sex has taken place.  I love dogs though.  I want to get a Newfoundland one day.  They are bigger than most household furniture.  Every time I see one I get put in such a good mood.  I think I would need to get married and have a couple kids to help take care of it though.  I’m good for a walk or two each day but I can’t do everything, dammit. 

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

I guess I should probably say truth, but I’m gonna go with kindness.  Kindness leads to more people giving me free ice cream and stuff like that.

10. How do you define sin?

Not trying to be the best you you can be.  I realize that sounds like something from a refrigerator magnet, but I actually believe it.  Who wants to make out?

11. How do you define virtue?

Not whipping it out every time you feel like it.  Pull yourself together, buddy.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

Ideally, I would like a mausoleum with a statue of Glenn Danzig just rocking out on top.  It would say “Dave Hill is dead.  We are still trying to identify the shooter.  Also, if there are any chicks standing around crying and shit, don’t bother them.  Just let them get it out of their system.”

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Morrissey or David Lee Roth.  Duh.

Connections:
Dave Hill
@MrDaveHill

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

