Skip to content

Glowing House

June 6, 2012

Glowing House – it’s one of those evocative band names that conjures up something, creates expectations in the listener of warm, inviting spaces, familiar objects, and a sense of home. Of course home can also be fraught – and every glow creates shadows. Denver folk outfit Glowing House – husband-and-wife duo Jess Parsons and Steve Varney – fulfills those expectations and then some.  “Taming Lions,” the first single from their forthcoming sophomore album, Days Run Out draws you in from its lush, taut opening to the gorgeous howl of the chorus. Compared to the stripped-down, authentic folk tone of their previous releases, “Taming Lions” shows depth and determination from a band that shouldn’t be underestimated in 2012.Days Run Out, their second full-length release, is alive with lush instrumentation, wide-open melodies and thoughtful compositions. It’s the type of music that can make you feel like you are falling in love—and you probably are. Recorded with Jamie Mefford (Gregory Alan Isakov, Dan Craig), Days Run Out is an album almost two years in the making and features cameos from such lauded Denver musicians as Phil Parker (Gregory Alan Isakov), Wesley Watkins (Air Dubai, Petals of Spain), Jeanie Schroder (DeVotchKa), Aaron Keim (Quiet American) and Chris McGarry.

Glowing House is offering a free copy of Days Run Out to the first 100 ticket buyers for their album release party at the Hi-Dive on Saturday, June 9.

1. What is your hometown?

Steve

I was born in Warsaw, Indiana. I was pretty young when we moved, so I definitely look at Littleton, CO as my hometown.

Jess

Liberal, Kansas. And, yes, I have heard every political joke you are thinking of at this moment.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Steve

The unidentified old man in Mark Twain’s short story, “The War Prayer”. I have a hard time blindly accepting anything.

Jess

The character doesn’t have a name, but it comes from one of my favorite poems by B.H. Fairchild called “Rave On”. It’s all about growing up in a small town and how fearless and naive that place can allow you to be.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you?

Steve

Jess and I have talked about this before and she’s pretty set on Matt Damon, which I would be fine with, but it would be hard for me to not let Joseph Gordon Levitt at least do a reading.

Jess

I think Jennifer Lawrence is a great actress, but truthfully I don’t know if my life is really deserving of such a serious actress. Zooey Deschanel is probably a better fit; nothing is too serious and she has awesome clothes.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Steve

A well-written song will always stick with me longer than any other medium.

Jess

I have always been in awe of Ansel Adams’ photography. There is one in particular of some aspen trees that my dad had in his office when I was growing up. That one is my favorite.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Steve

I am reading “Songwriting Without Boundaries” by Pat Pattinson. That’s such a lame answer, but it has great exercises to make you think more like a songwriter. I also love Sun Magazine and will forever recommend Mark Twain’s “The War Prayer”.

Jess

“Water for Elephants”. It had the best ending of any fiction I have read in a very long time.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Steve

The album “Metals” by Feist.

Jess

“Harrow and the Harvest” by Gillian Welch.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Steve

“Up.” More specifically, the wordless montage toward the beginning of the movie. You’re a cold, dark shell of a person if you don’t hold back some tears. It should be used as a litmus test to diagnose sociopaths.

Jess

“50/50,” although that is not hard for a movie to accomplish with me. I’m a crier.

8. Cat person or dog person?

Steve

Dog person all the way.

Jess

Dog person leaning towards neither.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Steve

Part of what makes a person kind is knowing the appropriate time to use truth, so I’ll go with kindness.

Jess

I believe it’s kindness. You may disagree, but I often view what we believe to be truth as very circumstantial. I believe there is something transparent, and one could say truthful, about always being kind and putting others before yourself.

10. How do you define sin?

Steve

A sin to me is when you willfully do something that you know is wrong. A person might do something bad that is directly related to their upbringing; I wouldn’t call that a sin. It’s not your fault if you learned right from wrong from a bad teacher.

Jess

I think sin to me is the absence of love. Whether that is loving others or even yourself.

11. How do you define virtue?

Steve

A behavior or personality trait that you choose to exhibit simply because you want to be a good person.

Jess

I would have to agree with Steve. I think often times we reserve the word “virtue” for religious context, for someone who is seemingly perfect or has done no wrong, but I think we have to look at the heart behind someone’s actions – the reasons why they do what they do – to see true virtue.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

Steve

I’ve always wanted to be cremated. Keep me in a snazzy urn.

Jess

This beautiful quote comes from a short story by Collin Varney, who I am proud to call my brother-in-law:

“We wait a lifetime to find the passion that will free us in our endeavor to name the world. For those that find it quickly, mock not those waiting anxiously with wayward commitment. Learn it. Mold it. Break it in a million pieces and put it back together. Now it’s yours. So with haste – go. What you make of it may be what those waiting anxiously need to make their own.”

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Steve

Glen Hansard. It would be good information to have for when we start hanging out together on a regular basis.

Jess

Gillian Welch

Connections:
Glowing House
@glowinghouse

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Exit Ghost « 12 Questions

Leave a Reply

