Skip to content

Hideous Men

July 16, 2012

Hideous Men. Photo by Sarah Cass

Photo by Sarah Cass

Denver electronic duo Hideous Men make self-proclaimed “dance music for weirdos.” Which makes us love them, because let’s face it, we love to dance and we’re kind of weirdos. Hideous Men are Ryan McRyhew and Kristi Schaefer, and their sound is an eclectic synthesis of Ryan’s background in analog synths and love of rap and experimental noise, (and his previous involvement in electronic-noise group, BDRMPPL), with Kristi’s appreciation of riot grrl, hardcore punk and pop.

Inspired by their peers in the now burgeoning Denver electro scene, Ryan and Kristi began making music as Hideous Men in August, 2009. Their influences can be heard in their bass-heavy beats, samples from rap songs, strong synth leads, and melodic yet confrontational vocals. The also operate independent label Laser Palace to support the artists they collaborate with.

1. What is your hometown?

Denver! Although we both grew up in the suburb known as Thornton, we try to think of that as little as possible. Denver is where our hearts are.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Kristi

Lindsay from Freaks and Geeks

Ryan

Definitely Garfield, or Bobby Hill. What’s the difference?

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Kristi

pixar Kristi, with the voice of Winona Ryder because I will have a crush on her forever.

Ryan

Probably Michael K. Williams. There’s little basis for this decision, I’d just like to see “Omar” playing synthesizers.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Everyday life inspires and motivates us. Pretty much anything our friends are making fall into that category, it’s not exclusive to that but our relationships with people speak to our souls.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Kristi

“Just Kids” by Patti Smith and “The Chronology of Water” by Lidia Yuknavitch

Ryan

“Electronic Music: Systems, Techniques, and Controls” by Allen Strange and “Pink Noises: Women on Electronic Music and Sound” by Tara Rodgers

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Kristi

I am embarrassingly out of the loop with music right now. I keep revisiting Austra’s Feel it Break. I guess technically that plays on my android device though, I don’t have an ipod. We also sold most of our records recently to get money for groceries. I’ve been really into listening to what neighbors are listening to. One of our neighbors litens to operas, another one listens to rap. Who needs records?

Ryan

I’ve been obsessed with Pierre Henry’s “Mise En Musique Du Corticalart De Roger Lafosse” lately. Also “Da Mind of Traxman” by Traxman, it melts me. Best footwork record ever.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Kristi

a video I had to watch in class about trauma survivors.

Ryan

Werner Herzog’s “Into the Abyss” was really intense, I didn’t cry but it definitely destroyed me mentally.

8. Cat person or dog person?

Kristi

BOTH! Sincerely, I love them both. Although cats make me itchy so we have two dogs. THE BEST DOGS EVER. I love them more than is healthy probably.

Ryan

I’m a Maurie and Emma person. Those are our dogs and they rule.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Do they have to be mutually exclusive? I’m really into true kindness.

10. How do you define sin?

Kristi

I don’t.

Ryan

I’d rather define the Sims, and by that I mean play the Sims. I define Sin as not giving social actions to Drew Carey’s character in the Sims: House Party. All that hard work, and for what!?

11. How do you define virtue?

Kristi

Another problematic word. Being sincere and causing as little suffering as possible is what is important to me.

Ryan

Beating Mortal Kombat using only blocks and babalities?

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

Kristi

I’m going to be cremated. My crystal urn will have: B-) ^_^ ❤ engraved on it.

Ryan

My headstone is actually going to have a screen playing a single animated gif a day for eternity. I’m going to become the lawnmower man in death.

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

One (or more) of the homeless folks in Denver.

Connections:
Hideous Men on Facebook
Laser Palace

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

