Skip to content

Cousins

August 17, 2012

Cousins are right up my alley. It’s a young optimistic sound of my youth that I’m always trying to go back to. The second I heard Cousins I felt all those feelings again. With a post punk shoegaze vibe, Cousins takes that dark brooding vibe and gives it a nod before moving toward their own thing with full buzzing sound. Their Axthoxy EP and Cassingle will be a great addition to your fall playlist.

Vincent, the bass player, answered our 12 Questions for the whole band. The gentlemen will be playing Total Fest on Friday, August 17th – they’re the last band of the night. Definitely not to be missed!

1. What is your hometown?

I – along with Daniel (guitar) and Grant (drums) – grew up and started Cousins in Gurnee, IL. However, the band itself didn’t take off until  I was living in Milwaukee, at which point my roommate, J. Wyatt (guitar, voice), joined Cousins. From there we have been spending our Friday night’s practicing in my living room or our friends’ basement in the midst Milwaukee’s hop-infused air. Cousins’ hometown therefore is Milwaukee and I invest a great deal of myself in Cousins, so Milwaukee is my home as well.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Rob Gordon from “High Fidelity.”

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

I would want it to be a cartoon and I would want Ryan Gosling to do my voice.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

John Coltrane’s “Blue Train.”

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Grant and I have been on a Eugene O’Neil binge. Read O’Neil. All of his plays. Read them.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Milk Music – Live at WMFU and Broken Water – Whet. And of course, a little Black Flag everyday helps with the blues fostered from the mundane.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Probably the second time I watched “Drive.” Realized my girlfriend would think I was way cooler if I had a car…or if I was tuff…or if I was Ryan Gosling.

8.  Cat person or dog person?

Siberian Husky

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Kindness, because the kind if they are kind wouldn’t, at least in my mind, lie.

10.    How do you define sin?

I don’t believe in sin because I do not believe in God, but I do believe there is a line between being good to yourself, others, and the world and treating yourself, others, and the world like shit.

11.    How do you define virtue?

ἀρετή

12.   Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

A giant statue of Will Smith looking down on me with a plaque on the base that reads “HERE LIES VINCENT GAA. WELCOME TO EARF – UH!”

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

J. from Dinosaur.

Connections:
Cousins
Cousins on Facebook

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

