Skip to content

Gina Mamone

September 5, 2012

Gina Mamone

Gina Mamone is a tender-hearted gender Queer from West Virginia, and is founding President and CEO of Riot Grrrl Ink (RGI). Riot Grrrl Ink. is the largest Queer Record Label in the WORLD and has a current roster of 180 artist & social justice causes.   The RGI Produce-and-Support roster works with such artists as the Indigo Girls, Bitch, Stacy Ann Chin, My Gay Banjo, Nervous but Excited and Amy Ray’s solo work.

Gina has led the greening of the music industry by producing the very first album in history with no ecological footprint, Anchors by Nervous but Excited. Gina is the co-founder of the Gay ole Opry and NYC’s Queer Country Monthly’s . Gina and her Co-Producer Karen Pittleman are trying to jumpstart and shine a light on the queer country music genera.

The RGI roster includes many nonprofit and social justice causes like the Queer History Pop up Museum; HIPS, Helping Individual Prostitutes Survive; and Medea Theater for Incarcerated Women.

1. What is your hometown?

Bluefield West Virginia

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

I am not saying who but it’s in a Kurt Vonnegut novel.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

I don’t care as long as they are Gender Queer as fuck, they need to be called out ever time they go to the bathroom outside their home. Welcome to my life.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

I love music, tha’ts the world I live & work in but I am really interested where art and politics meet, Ai Weiwei’s political work and the whole Pussy Riot Revolution.  It has been amazing to see the world unite over something. The actions and marches in NYC have been inspiring.  Their art will bring change in time.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I can’t wait to get a copy of “My Awesome Place”, the autobiography of Cheryl B,  Kate Bornstein’s “Queer and Pleasant Danger” & I highly recommend “Tango: My Childhood, Backwards and in High Heels” by Mx. Justin Vivian Bond.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

I am really into Shovels & Rope and Midtown Dickens right now.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

I could not tell you but any time a dog gets hurt or dies I cry.

8.  Cat person or dog person?

Spoiler Alert! Dog person

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Truth. I’d rather know where I stand than stare at a smile that means nothing.

10.    How do you define sin?

Everyone has their own moral code and knows where that word ends and begins within themselves.

11.    How do you define virtue?

I personally identify virtue with community, creating, giving and connecting in one..

12.   Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

I want to be cremated put in a mason jar & accidentally spilled at the Grand Ole Opry, a little bit will get in the floor boards.  I don’t know if headstones are important to me.  My grandmother passed away about a year ago.  We were incredibly close.  She does not have a headstone, just a small plaque in the ground.  What is nice though is that there is a marble bench.  She always loved company and it’s nice to see that she prepared for it in the afterlife. I am glad that I have that bench to go sit on and stare at the sky while I think of her.  Headstones are not important to me,  Its the actions & intent of how you fill your days, thats what is important to me.

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Hugh Ryan founder of www.queermuseum.com/

Connections:
Riot Grrl, Ink.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tate permalink
    June 2, 2014 05:09

    Gina Mamone is f*cking awesome and has saved more queer lives than we will ever know. Just the fact that she steps out of her home and walking through the world is activism on such an intense level I don’t think I could handle it. She is an amazing public speaker and just fucking hot. She always wears those western snap shirts and the few times I have gotten things signed at shows by her, there is a part of me that just wants to rip her shirt off. No matter how many years go by she looks like she is in her 20’s. She must take great care of herself. She always hangs out after a show, talks, take pictures and signs things. She is always very appreciative of her fans. Last year on the queer pomp tumbler she came in second, totally robbed. She has a perfect pompadour. I once saw her play with the Indigo Girls and she added 80% more energy to the show. She was running and jumping up and down with a banjo and a resonator. I am writing my graduate thesis on her. just because it’s the only way i can think of to meet her and her accomplishments are truly outstanding. She’s also quick witted and has a funny since of humor. Years ago she was flying into LAX with Sarah Silverman, they had obviously been on some kind of tropical vacation, they were tan in the winter time. TMZ wanted them to admit they were together but Gina started talking about how they were coming back from Yiddish-Con. Sarah was trying to keep a straight face, head down with a baseball hat and it was one of the funniest things I have ever seen. Her birthday is going to be a gay holiday or maybe a stamp like Harvey Milk. I don’t know what it’s called but it’s when all the big Nashville stars come out and they spend the whole day taking pics and signing autographs with big concerts at night. Garth Brooks and Gina did a cover Bob Seagers Night Moves that was amazing and I think the most political thing to ever happen there was when Gina banjo’d and belted out Thank God I’m a Country Boy with Garth.

Leave a Reply

