Skip to content

Green River Ordinance

September 12, 2012

Green River Ordinance

Over the decade-long journey from their first incarnation as kids in Fort Worth, Texas to the upcoming release of their latest album, Under Fire, Green River Ordinance has evolved steadily. The powerful five-piece’s message on their upcoming release evokes the challenges and triumphs of its members as they continue to grow personally and artistically.

In 2007, GRO’s intensity and strong fan connection prompted EMI to sign them to Capitol Records. In 2009, Out of Our Hands, the band’s debut album shot to No. 10 on Billboard’s Heatseekers Chart and catapulted two singles, “Come On” and “On Your Own,” into the Top 40. GRO shared stages with Bon Jovi, Train, Counting Crows, Gavin DeGraw and other headliners; earned press coverage from CNN, Billboard and Alternative Press and got their music played on 56 network and cable shows along with three films. And then, in July 2010, they walked away to start anew.

GRO are Josh Jenkins, lead vocals, acoustic guitar, piano; Jamey Ice, electric guitar, banjo; Joshua Wilkerson, electric guitar, keys, background vocals; Geoff Ice, bass, background vocals; and Denton Hunker, drums, percussion.

Working with producers Jordan Critz, Chad Copelin and Jarod Evans, GRO recorded Under Fire at studios in Texas and Oklahoma. For this album, the band wrote all songs built on a foundation of strong, solid, high-impact music – walls of guitar, hushed and intimate acoustic moments and rousing harmonized vocals.

GRO are playing two homecoming dates this weekend September 15 & 16 at Live Oak in Ft. Worth. Check out their interview here, and then join us for what promises to be a weekend full of amazing live music.

Geoff Ice, GROResponding to the Questionnaire on behalf of the band is bassist and background vocalist Geoff Ice. Geoff helped found Green River Ordinance at the age of 13 with his older, lead guitar playing, brother Jamey. Geoff previously studied environmental science and geology before dropping out college to pursue music full time with GRO; he has learned over time to find pride in being a nerd.

1. What is your hometown?

My Hometown is Fort Worth Texas.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

I would like to think that I would be a combination of Ash from Evil Dead, Roland the gunslinger from Steven King’s the Dark Tower, and Malcolm Reynolds the captain from firefly. But to be completely honest, I am probably the most like Doug Funny from the nickelodeon show Doug.

According to my wife I am a lot like Seth Cohen from the OC. I have never watched this show so I have no real opinion on the subject. I was respecting her opinion on the subject until she suggested Eragon from the inheritance trilogy. Which turned into me telling her how I would never be so two dimensional with that much magic. Which led her to rolling her eyes and saying how Doug was the better comparison. I mean at least Doug can turn into Quail man.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

I would like to think that Ryan Gosling would play me in the movie of my life. I have heard before that we look similar, some how we both did the long hair and beard thing around the time of “The Note Book” and he kind of copied me again with the clean cut look recently. Some times we text to make sure we both don’t go out in public wearing matching outfits. It can get pretty embarrassing at times.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Music speaks to my soul very strongly, I have been in Green River Ordinance since I was 13 (half of my entire life) and I have always felt connection through music. I read books and watch movies to escape and I really listen to music with that same purpose. My soul feels well spoken to if a body of art has taken me out of my every day routine and has helped me to see or feel something amazing that I am missing in my introversion. Art is about connecting, in my opinion, not isolating one’s self.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I really, really, really enjoy reading, and the best (and worst) part of having the privilege to be a full time musician is that you spend at least 5 hours of every work day sitting in a van. This gives me more than enough time to read or listen to audio books.

I am a firm believer that everyone should love reading fantasy and most often the people that do not like fantasy have been reading the wrong books. Here is my beginner, advanced, and extreme suggestions to falling in love with fantasy.

The name of the Wind and the Wise Mans fear by Patrick Rothfuss, are amazing and relatively easy to read. George RR Martin has a book series called A Song of Ice and Fire, and the first book of the series is called a Game of Thrones. HBO has adapted this series to a TV show, the books are great and you should really consider listening to them on audio books while you make your morning commute or fold clothes. If you like that and can handle more characters and more back story than you thought was physically possible you should tighten your shoe laces and start reading the Malazan Books of the Fallen by Steven Erikson. I am currently on the 8th book of that series, and my mind still gets blown every hundred pages or so.

I also just finished an amazing Science fiction Space Operal called Leviathan Wakes by James S.A. Corey.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

I have been jamming the newer Nada Surf record “The Stars are Indifferent to your Astronomy”; I am normally not a big lyrics guy, but I love every Nada surf record because of the lyrics. They write amazing 3 piece post punk pop tunes and I relate to them in the same way that Doug Funny just wants to strum on his banjo and bang on a trash can.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

The beginning of the Pixar movie UP gave me the tears real bad.

8. Cat person or dog person?

Say hello to my good friend Renly.

Renly

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

I feel that truth and kindness should be interconnected. Truth without kindness just leads to bitterness and kindness without truth is selfish and hollow. You can be the sweetest, kindest person and not give a single flip about anyone, and you can be honest to a fault without kindness and push everyone away. To love some one is to be honest and truthful in a loving and kind way. Apparently that is really hard to do and I am still figuring it out.

10. How do you define sin?

Loving your self at everyone else’s’ expense, or trying to be the God of your universe. Sin is the little baby crying because they did not get there way, and I think that we are all plagued with that basic selfishness and have learned to hide it and justify it in different ways.

11. How do you define virtue?

Selflessness in my opinion is the opposite of sin, and the defining point of virtue. To love some one with out any strings attached, and without trying to control them is Love. To love something because you love something, without expectations. It’s heavily laking in this world where most kind gestures come with a price. To truly love something and to not expect anything in return, that is virtue. I am fighting for this in my marriage and utterly failing at it most of the time, we Americans were just not wired this way. But I am thankful that people like me who do not deserve grace get it for free.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

My head stone would read as follows

Here Lies William Geoffrey Ice, Collector of Gold and Fine Gems

“You Want My Treasure? It’s Right Where I Left It. Good Luck!”

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Joss Whedon, I just love his comic books and Tv shows, and oh yeah that movie he just did “The Avengers” that was pretty cool.

Connections:
Green River Ordinance
@GRO

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Debi Martin permalink
    September 12, 2012 18:32

    I never knew so much about you–Love you even more!!! Loved the headstone quote–!!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Fashions « 12 Questions

Leave a Reply

