Skip to content

Fashions

September 24, 2012

Fashions

Fashions is a Brooklyn-based band, influenced by a mix of 80’s pop & new wave and today’s electronic music, with visual elements and collaborative effort as a core part of the group’s concept. Their debut single “Slip Away” is s tropical-pop tune featuring (the band’s own) “Fashions Children’s Choir” and David Wood from the band TEENS.

Fashions are Mathew Maclaren, Lepaux, and Jonathan Hudak. Lepaux responded on behalf of the band.

1. What is your hometown?

I’m from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Matt is a British-born New Jerseyan who grew up in South Carolina. Jon is from Youngstown, Ohio.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

A cross between Ed Bloom from Big Fish and Edward Scissorhands. Typing this I realized that both characters are from Tim Burton films, maybe THAT’S who I identify with the most! I like to think he’s somewhat of a fictional character himself.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Johnny Depp or Wagner Moura.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Adagio for Strings by Samuel Barber is probably the most beautiful work of art in any form I’ve ever come across.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I’ve just wrapped up Moonwalking With Einstein by Joshua Foer. It’s an introduction to how our brain stores memory and the art of memorizing anything from a deck of cards to entire books. It’s a very easy and fun read, and the content is quite astonishing!

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Lately I’ve been diving into lot of classic Brazilian pop tunes, listening in on subtle percussive elements and arrangements, it’s giving great inspiration for writing our full length. An all-time favorite track that I got so sick listening to as a kid but now seems to be back in loop mode is Gilberto Gil’s Palco.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

I can’t really cry in films. The only movie I vividly remember rolling down tears was E.T. in the final scene, when I was about 4 or 5. Strangely though the only other time I can think of is in this epic scene of The Fresh Prince!

8. Cat person or dog person?

I dig them both equally so long as they have a formidably unique personality.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

I was reading Geoff Ice‘s responses on the blog and I agree with him 100%. I think the human spirit is far too complex to choose one or the other, that’s part of the beauty. I try (and often fail) to do what I think will bring out the most positive result in a given situation without compromising character.

10. How do you define sin?

Acting contrary to your own principles.

11. How do you define virtue?

Complete absence of judgment towards anyone.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

I believe in reincarnation and the idea of a having headstone sounds really silly, but I’m thinking it would be nice to have a place where close ones could come hang out once a while. I’d pick a hilarious larger-than-life bronze (no golden!) statue of myself dancing one of my top 3 moves like there’s no tomorrow, placed somewhere in Parque Lage, Rio. But the city probably wouldn’t approve.

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Everyone!

Connections
Fashions
@fashionstheband

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2012 13:21

    I love music by Fashions! I hope this interview introduces more people to their music.

  2. November 2, 2012 12:30

    read another interview with Fashions here – http://www.beyoubesure.com/2012/10/instagram-ray-bans-and-vinyl.html.

    be you. be sure y’all.

Leave a Reply

