Skip to content

The Marquis

November 16, 2012

Gregory Pasqua of The Marquis

The Marquis is an alternative band from Brooklyn, New York. Their soulful writing couples genre-blending rock music—an interplay of folk, soul, electronic, and jazz—with lyrics in a way that matters. Joined by many talents—both in the studio and live—the collective renders an organic, expressive, and atmospheric landscape of emotionally connectable and affective music. One listen won’t be enough to take in everything that’s happening in their tunes; you’ll be swept up in the cinematic feel, floating away on chill vocals and lush strings.

Give a listen to their newest track, “Rose” and read on to learn more about this emerging band.

1. What is your hometown?

Some of us hail from Brooklyn, NY. Some hail from the west: Southside Seattle.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Alice.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

I’d love to see what Paul Newman can do but realistically, I’ll go with Tina Majorino. When I was 11 or 12, people thought I looked like her. Plus, she’s got experience with falling through the looking glass.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

I tend to relate to a piece and the method behind it. Edwin Dickinson’s “Ruin At Daphne” really spoke to me when I was younger and I still love it. I’m most recently captivated by Gustav Klimt’s “Bildnis der Serena Lederer.” It’s beautiful and soft and you can just get so close to it right now at the Met Museum in NY. You can look up at it to see certain details, like the layered brush strokes (the top layers, most notably) and what may have been the final touches that Klimpt added. As cheesy, inane, or self-serving as that sounds, I love the idea. Also, last year, a friend turned me on to the sound-artist, Tim Hecker. His ambient music is amazing.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I’ve read so many Batman comics and books because of the Dark Knight Rises (around and since the movie, anyway). I just read the Gingerbread Man to my niece … I’m trying to get through John Lennon’s “The Life” and Vladimir Nabokov’s “Pale Fire.” I think I’m more adept at reading short stories, though. And anything related to music business.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Foremost, the songs we’re working on! I must have listened to the tracks for the EP a few hundred times each over the last few months. “Rose” is my favorite so far. And conveniently for you, I’ll remind you that you can check out songs from our forthcoming EP, here!  I also just bought Ultraista’s self-titled debut release. I’m slowly discovering the rest but Smalltalk and Our Song are immediately great.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

I’ll have to go with TV show, instead. I was ridiculously touched by the last episode of Lost. I wailed when Jack’s near death on the beach and shepherded by Vincent. Know what I’m talking about?

8. Cat person or dog person?

Dog person. Did you ever see this?

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

The Truth!

10. How do you define sin?

Ignorance, disregard, exploitation for bad or harmful intention.

11. How do you define virtue?

Good intuition and action led by moral goodness that does good, inspires individual good or positively inspires others for good … Fearlessness to take the path that you know is right.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

It’s a magic genie lamp and it works.

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Entertainment lawyer extraordinaire and friend, Eduardo Lopez.

Connections:

The Marquis
The Marquis on Facebook
@marquisdesound

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

