Skip to content

Unisexasaurus

November 26, 2012

Unisexasaurus

“Fluffy” is sometimes used as a pejorative when describing pop music. But Unisexasaurus, the new solo project by Namq Kang, embraces its fluffiness. If music could be felt, Unisexasaurus would be fluffy in the most delicious and inviting way. At the age of twelve, Namq began experimenting with different styles of music while collaborating with his friends and other artists. This allowed him to learn variety of instruments and programs that developed his style of music today. He released his first EP, ‘Love is in the Ear’ in fall 2012. All songs are written and produced by Namq, and the album provides the listeners a unique dreamy vibe. It’s music that men, women and even dinosaurs could empathize with.  Namq’s pop dreamscapes invite you to embrace the feeling that we have transcended time and space. This is the experience which Unisexasaurus gives you – journeying beyond the limits of reality but staying close to its boundaries; floating inside a dream while clinging on to your bedsheets.

1. What is your hometown?

Hi, these are the cities that I lived in:

• Busan, Korea
• Dublin, Ohio
• Toledo, Ohio
• Bundang, Korea
• Danville, Illinois
• Morehead, Kentucky
• Campbellsville, Kentucky
• Chattanooga, Tennessee
• Kennesaw, Georgia
• Champaign, Illinois
• Seoul, Korea
• Chicago, Illinois
• Pasadena, California

I have no idea where my hometown is, but I would probably say Busan, Korea since I was born there. I lived in Illinois most of my life though.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Stéphane Miroux from ‘Science of Sleep’.

Sheldon from ‘I’m Here’.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

I have no idea. Here goes a random answer. Jude Law.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Good food. Good albums I used to listen to since I was young. Good films and books. I’m not going to name any because I would go on forever.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I’m currently re-reading The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis and it is a lovely read. I would recommend No One Belongs Here More Than You by Miranda July if you enjoy short stories. The Boy from Lam Kien is a great read also.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

I have been playing a lot of ‘Astor Piazzolla – Tango: Zero Hour’ this week. I usually don’t play this album that often but it has been a strange week.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

I actually don’t remember crying in general in such a long time. But I’ve watched Sofia Coppola’s ‘Somewhere’ just yesterday and it was a lovely film.

8. Cat person or dog person?

Cat. I’ve always had cats around me until I moved to California.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Truth – because in the end truth is what really matters.

10. How do you define sin?

For me, sin is something that doesn’t feel right. I also try to apply the Bible to my life so anything that is wrong according to the Bible, I believe it is a sin for me.

11. How do you define virtue?

Honesty.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

I want to be cremated but on the jar I want it to say, “Yours, Namq Kang”.

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Dinosaurs! Rawr!

Connections:

Official webpage
Facebook
@namqkang
iTunes

Leave a Reply

