Skip to content

Rumtum

December 3, 2012

rumtum

Rumtum, the latest project from producer John Hastings, makes beat driven electronic music that’s so warm you can wrap it around you to fend off the impending winter. Chimes and smooth loops intertwined over an insistent bassline inspire both meditation and movement – the perfect balance of the cerebral and the physical.

Rumtum celebrated joining the Holy Underground collective by dropping a sleek little mini-EP. Join him on the 14th at Larimer Lounge for the live experience. In the meantime, listen up and read on…

1. What is your hometown?

Euclid, OH.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

I guess it have to be kermit the frog, his admiration and love for humanity is pretty stunning.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Well seeing as I can cast actors I’m guessing I would be the director? If so, this movie would be completely fiction and resembling nothing about my life. I’m thinking “MY MOVIE” would vibe on Star Wars mixed with Ice pirates and maybe some Water World in there as well. To answer the question, Bill Murry would be the only actor I would hire to play the Roll of JTH..

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Anything I find intriguing, my soul seems to become more connected to everything with age. Architecture seems to fascinate me, really stirs up my conceptual side.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Solitude by:Anthony Storr. Found it up in Port Townsend Washington at this awesome little book store.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

I don’t actually listen to music all that much, I spend all my time creating new sounds or trying to be active with camping or fishing. Although when I do take time listen it can range from J-Dilla to Philip Glass, could be anything I find on the internet as well!

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Babes in Toyland

8. Cat person or dog person?

I still want my Dogcat, it’s 2012!

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Everyone has an opinion as we create our own world, depends on what is around you.

10. How do you define sin?

noun

an immoral act considered to be a transgression against divine law : a sin in the eyes of God | the human capacity for sin.

• an act regarded as a serious or regrettable fault, offense, or omission : he committed the unforgivable sin of refusing to give interviews | humorous with air like this, it’s a sin not to go out.

11. How do you define virtue?

noun

1 behavior showing high moral standards : paragons of virtue. See note at goodness .

• a quality considered morally good or desirable in a person : patience is a virtue.

• a good or useful quality of a thing : Mike was extolling the virtues of the car | there’s no virtue in suffering in silence.

• archaic virginity or chastity, esp. of a woman.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

I don’t plan on staying on this earth for more then 15 more years… Refer to “The John Thomas & Big Muff” for ending.. That’s my movie with Bill, it’s a banger.

Connections:Rumtum on Bandcamp
@rumtumjohn
Rumtum on Facebook

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

