Skip to content

Dame Darcy

January 30, 2013

Dame Darcy is a phenomenon. She does it all – illustrations, paintings, hand crafted dolls, stained glass, murals. She does short films and animation. She plays in a band called Death by Doll. You might know her as the creative force behind Meat Cake – a comic book series that’s been around since 1993. Filled to the brim with Siamese twins, mermaids, and fairy tales, Meat Cake has established Dame Darcy as a stylish story teller and artist. Dame Darcy has released beautiful collections of graphic novels like Frightful Fairytales, Garden of Poisonous Flowers, The Illustrated Jane Eyre and many more.

Her charming work can be found in her recent release Handbook for Hot Witches and her upcoming series The Black Rainbow Ranch trilogy: Black Rainbow Ranch, Rainbow Echo, and Rainbows End.

Dame Darcy is a prolific artist and she’s mesmerized us at 12 Questions for a long time. We’re sure she’ll do the same to you.

1. What is your hometown?

Idaho Falls, Idaho. I was raised in a small town and also on a horse ranch in the mountains. Though I also feel at home in NYC where I spent most of my adult life and San Francisco, where I went to art school, and now Savannah GA where I currently live. I have traveled all over the world but I always manage to feel at home no matter where I live, even the Bermuda Triangle.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Alice from Alice in Wonderland, Persephone, The Last Unicorn, and Madison the mermaid from Splash.  I not only resemble them but they all go through these metamorphoses and changes as they perceive the world around them as a weird and trippy place instead of it as a mundane reality.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

I used to try to look and act like Lillian Gish the silent star all the time, but now in more modern movies I would be played by Cate Blanchett when she was Galadriel. Also of course Daryl Hannah the mermaid environmentalist who also got to play a doll in Blade Runner. Or maybe I’d let my doll Isabelle play me, she loves to ham it up.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

I enjoy Maxfield Parrish. His piece “Waterfall” really speaks to the mermaid in me.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Sad Sex by Heather Benjamin, Mama Gena’s Owner’s and Operator’s Guide to Men by Regena Thomashauer, Cost Conscious Cruiser by Lin and Larry Pardey, The Wisdom of Florence Scovel Shinn by Florence Scovel Shinn

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Tara Knight, Adam Ant, Justice, Johnny Cash, MGMT, Witch House genre especially MASCARA and Witchney Houston. I really need to get more random Irish classic Celtic folk Tunes and Sea Shanties.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

“House” A Japanese Horror Movie from 1977. I was so happy I cried.

8.  Cat person or dog person?

Doll person actually. However, I’ve been informed by Isabelle that “Doll” is an old school racist comment and that the politically correct way to refer to her is “Small fabricated person”.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Kindness, because the truth can sometimes be unkind, so in that case it’s sometimes ok to lie.

10. How do you define sin?

Anything that makes you go against your true and better nature. Anything that makes you stray from the path of your greatest good.

11. How do you define virtue?

Incorruptibility, being able to always be yourself and be true to yourself through thick and thin. Being a good friend and companion to those in your life.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

Well, I have several ideas, first to be taxidermied and put on the front of a ship as a bow spirit. If that doesn’t work out then I’d like to be cremated and have half my ashes thrown to sea (the mermaid half) and the rest buried under a tree that can be my headstone. But if I was to have the traditional headstone it would read, “Life’s a pitch and then you live forever”.

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Carol Channing.

Connections:

Dame Darcy
@DameDarcy

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

