Skip to content

Garek

February 4, 2013

Garek

Garek was a small-town boy from the Midwest. He took up songwriting to express everything he’d been too afraid to confront. Music was his therapy; that, and Pinot Noir. At 25, Garek fell in with a group of producers who believe in his vision and helped make his debut EP “Take The King” a reality. He makes sexy synthpop that’s a little dark and dirty around the edges.

Garek lives in East Harlem with his dust bunnies and multiple personalities.

1. What is your hometown?

Pound, Wisconsin. Yup, it exists. I think the official population is somewhere around 400 people. I was one of the lucky 400…

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Ursula the Sea Witch. She has an incredible ability to hold grudges, is an obvious over-eater and would rather have anyone else’s voice than her own. That and just imagine what, or who, I could do with eight arms.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

For theatres or the adult version?

PG: maybe Ryan Phillipe, or 50 cent. I’d like to see him play a flamer.

Adult version: Jenna Jameson.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Nature. I can consistently come back to her and be re-inspired each time.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Sylvia Plath: Method and Madness by Edward Butscher.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Fleetwood Mac has been coming up a lot lately. Stevie Nicks was my first love. When I was little I cried because I couldn’t memorize the lyrics to “Dreams” after only one listen. I had no time back then…

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Oh Christ. Publicly? I think it was Toy Story 3. There’s a scene at the end where the kid gives all his toys away. I tried to contain myself, but I lost it. My younger sister even looked at me and said, “You’re crying?”

Damn Pixar.

8. Cat person or dog person?

Cats. They’re cleaner and make you work for their affection. I admire that.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Ultimately, truth. No one can ever really grow based on kindness alone. It helps, but sometimes you have to find out what you’re doing wrong in order to do it right. Truth can hurt, and I’m probably one of the most sensitive people you’ll ever meet. So, although I prefer kindness, I require truth.

10. How do you define sin?

I don’t.

11. How do you define virtue?

Vir- what?

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

“Had a good run”

It’s a small placard on the back of a dumpster somewhere…

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Someone more interesting than me.

Connections:
Garek
@savegarek

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary Rein permalink
    February 4, 2013 18:19

    Love your answers to this interview, Garrett. They are the “true” boy I know and love. Your Ursula comment made me laugh along with the tears during Toy Story 3. Can actually hear your little sis saying, “You’re crying?” Keep being your amazing self.

Leave a Reply

