Skip to content

Delilah Snell & Nicole Stevenson

February 25, 2013

Delilah Snell and Nicole Stevenson are the founders of Craftcation. A three day indie business and DIY workshop conference, Craftcation is meant to inspire the independent craft community by providing opportunities for networking, connect with a community of crafty peers, and build entrepreneurial spirit.

Snell and Stevenson, while stuck in agonizing traffic, started a dialogue about what Patchwork (the indie art and craft festival they produce) and the independent business community needed – Craftcation was born! Both women are connected to the indie business movement, not only because of Patchwork, but also because of their own indie businesses, Backyard in a Jar and Random Nicole respectively. This means they know what they’re talking about!

We’re thrilled to feature these two amazing ladies and encourage you to take the trip to Ventura, CA and attend Craftcation to see what all the buzz is about!

1. What is your hometown?

D:

Orange County, CA

N:

The city of Orange in Southern California, though now I’m lucky enough to live in Santa Rosa smack dab in the middle of Sonoma Wine Country.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

D:

This is a hard one…never thought about this. Maybe because of the time in my life but Melanie Griffith in Working Girl…not that I ever pretended to be someone but I am some one wanting to make something/a career in a different way and I am through non-conventional methods.

N:

I’d have to say Winona Ryder in Mermaids–I’ve seen that film more times than I can count and since I was in high school I always identified her sense of displacement and longing for something bigger than what was around her.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

D:

People have said I look a little like Rosario Dawson or Julia Roberts…sure, why not!

N:

I would beg for Lena Dunham (Girls & Tiny Furniture) to play me. Shae has an amazing sense of self and I’m obsessed with her Instagram-I only follow a few people and she’s one of them.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

D:

I don’t have just one, I love a number of things from the greats to people who are just starting. Recently, we will be hosting a show with Dino Perez, a local Santa Ana artist whose work I also have in our home.

N:

I love the classics but also love modern artists like Margaret Kilgallen (who sadly is no longer with us) and Lisa Congdon (a local San Francisco artist that didn’t start making art until she was in her late 30’s-her work is progressive and honest and beautiful and provokes thought—all at once).

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

D:

Don’t hate, but right now I am too busy to read for pleasure (I sneak in a magazine every now and then). I work 14-16 hours a day 7 days a week for months on end. But, if I could sit by the pool and relax with something I would love to read the Game of Thrones series and totally escape! *Heart* Tyrion!

N:

 I just went to Alt Summit with Delilah last week and we all got a copy of Chris Anderson’s book Makers which I’m still in the midst of reading. He does a lovely job paralleling the rise of making after/during the industrial revolution to the rise of making that’s happening right now. Before that I read Blood, Bones and Butter by Gabrielle Hamilton-the chef and owner of Prune in NYC.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

D:

Studio One: Soul

N:

Odetta singing Hit or Miss. Such an empowering song about being true to yourself.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

D:

I just saw Billy Elliot a few days ago (for the nth time)…I basically lose my stuff when Billy is dancing and his father catches him straight on through the end I am a bawling mess.

N:

 Pretty much any movie can bring me to tears. I’m quite a cry baby. My go-to classic when I want to let it all out is Steel Magnolias but I also bawled when I watched Brave–seeing a young girl (albeit animated) coming to terms with who she is.

8. Cat person or dog person?

D:

 Dog all the way. I am allergic to cats.

N:

 Dog all the way! Cats are too elusive for me.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

D:

 Truth, but you can say it in a kind way. You don’t have to be an a-hole about it.

N:

Kindness

10. How do you define sin?

D:

Something bad/evil for people of faith.

N:

 Not living up to your potential.

11. How do you define virtue?

D:

 Being Awesome!

N:

 Being true to yourself in life and in work.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

D:

No headstone – I want to be cremated and have my ashes planted with a tree.

N:

I’d like to be cremated and have my ashes divided by all the people and places I loved.

Connections:

Craftcation
@Craftcation

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

