Skip to content

Isaac Witty

March 11, 2013

Isaac Witty

The seeds of Isaac Witty’s love for–and precocious performance of–stand-up comedy were planted at an early age, and we’re not merely referring to the fact that he was born with a comedy-ready name. What we’re actually referring to is that his comedy proclivities took root when he was quite young, while touring with his parents who made their living doing Christian sketch comedy in churches across the country. Subsequently, at an age where most youngsters are more concerned with getting their drivers license–16–Isaac first tried his hand at performing in a church talent show and decided to make stand-up comedy his career. Over the next several years he continued writing his own jokes and honing his performing chops in his hometown of Tulsa, Oklahoma. This effort paid off handsomely when he won the Tulsa “Comedy Central Laugh Off.” After relocating to Minneapolis, he further broadened his resume by hosting a local TV program, “The Big Bad Movie Show.”

Isaac has since appeared at the Chicago Comedy Festival, the prestigious “Just For Laughs” comedy festival in Montreal, Garrison’s Keillor’s, “A Prairie Home Companion, “The Late Show with David Letterman,” Comedy Centrals “Premium Blend!” and volume 4 of the DVD series, “Thou Shalt Laugh,” hosted by John Tesh. In June of 2009, Isaac helped create and starred in, “The Grave Review,” which won Best Picture in the Minneapolis 48 hour film festival.

Isaac was nominated for 12 Questions by our dear friend @mamy_irene, and we heartily second the nomination!

1. What is your hometown?

I moved around a lot as a kid; Tulsa, Oklahoma City, Nashville, Grove. It’d be a toss up between Grove, OK and Tulsa, OK.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Like everybody my age, I liked star wars, but I was more of a Rocky kid. I love Rocy Balboa. To this day, I can’t not cry at the end of Rockys 1, 2, 3, and 4 and even the 6th one a little. Rocky 5 is so bad, I don’t even cound it.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

I’ll play me at all ages of my own life. I’m an incredibly versatile actor.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Honestly, this question makes me cringe like when my girlfriend forces me to have a conversation about my feelings. Nothing speaks to my soul. LEAVE ME ALONE!

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I’m not a big reader. I know its terrible. I’m a slow reader and bad speller. The ONLY type of book I can get through is a biography or autobiogrophy. I think the last book I read was Don Rickles autobiography. On a long drive I recently LISTENED TO the Kieth Richards autobiography. It was ok. You won’t find much depth from me here.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

I don’t listen to music very often. Most of the time when ear buds are in my ears, I’m listening to talk radio. Questions about music always scare me because I’ve been permanently scared by music snob dorks. “Oh, you like that music??? That’s crap. You should be into some band that nobody knows about that I’m totally into as of last week!” I swear, the way that some people talk about music makes me want to never listen to anything at all. It just sounds like work.

My parents were in the ministry, so I wasn’t allowed to listen to secular music until I was in the 8th grade. Even then, when my parents would here Ton Loc coming from my room I’d get a side-ways look here and there.

I don’t like anything that is cool or unique. The Beatles, Rolling Stones, Traveling Wilburys, Mason Jennings, Tom Petty. Sometimes when I’m on the tread mill, I listen to Enya.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Probably Nobody’s Fool. Any movie that isn’t corny, but supposed to be sad or inspirational, I’ll cry. I cry VERY easily. Seriously, the other day, I felt like crying so I put on that old Tonight Show clip with Jimmy Stewart. He reads Johnny Carson a poem called, “A Dog Named Beau”. Gets me HARD every single time.

8. Cat person or dog person?

Not really an animal person, but… gun to my head, I’d say cat. I hate the idea of responsibility for the sake of responsibility. I see these people that have to leave a fun party early because they have to go feed their stupid animal. I always tell them, “You know that thing only likes you for the food, right?” It never changes their mind. Weird.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Kindness. People hate to hear the truth most of the time. They want to hear what they want to hear.

10. How do you define sin?

Not being yourself, settling for a standard life if you’d rather be doing something else, screwing people over, being smarmy and schmoozy; I hate fake people.

11. How do you define virtue?

Being yourself, doing your own thing. As you get older life does it’s best to beat you down. It makes most people angry and bitter. I say whoever gets through life with the least amout of anger and resentment wins.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

Sam Kinison’s headstone says, “In another day, he would have been called prophet”. I feel like that’s a bit much. Probably something like, “He was a good guy and a comedian”. 100 years after you die, nobody knows anything about you anyway. Something like that would sum things up enough. Somebody in the year 2113 would say, “huh… that’s neat.” And that’s really the most you could hope for.

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

The Turkeys: Gabe Noah, Chris Maddock, Kjell Bjorgan, Chris Knudson

Connections
Isaac Witty
@isaacwitty

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

