Skip to content

Marie Hines

March 27, 2013

Marie Hines

Singer-songwriter Marie Hines is a creator. She cooks dinner, she bakes cupcakes, she’s an avid DIY-er, and true to her Southern charm, she’s not afraid to get down in the dirt if it means cultivating something colorful and fragrant. Drawing inspiration from nature, here new recording The Tide and the Sea boasts music that mimics the fine lightness of a summer wind and the rolling current of a cool autumn stream.

The Tide and the Sea begins briskly, a crisp breeze fluttering through spring grass, playful and steady. “My Love Will Never Fail You,” the expansive, glittering single, makes confident declarations on the origins of love with lyrics like, “I don’t believe in chance. I think it’s the choice we make, and I choose you for the rest of my days,” its melody expanding into broad, undulating layers of a soaring orchestral spectrum. “In My Arms,” co-written with fellow Nashville songwriter Justin Halpin, is a richly textured, sanguine tune with a spirited rhythm.

Marie’s music has seen commercial and critical success with a feature in WalMart’s Valentine’s Day in-store promotional campaign in 2010 and 2011 and the top prizes in the Intel Superstars Competition, the Intel Video Superstars Competition, and the Avon Songwriting Competition. Following the release of Worth the Fight, Marie embarked on a national tour, playing venues like LA’s famous Hotel Café, Nashville’s Bluebird Café, New York’s The Living Room, and cafés, house concerts, and coffeeshops all along the way. In 2012, she was invited to play Toronto’s NXNE Festival. Catch her live April 5 at The Rutledge in Nashville.

1. What is your hometown?

Spartanburg, SC

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

I’m a huge fan of the TV show “Criminal Minds”, and while I obviously can’t completely identify with a character on that show, I’m fascinated with the characters and their thought processes. If I weren’t doing music, part of me would love to pursue criminal behavior analysis.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Keira Knightly. I love her grace and her whimsy, I love her strength. I’d love to be depicted by a woman like that- she’d have to slap on a Southern accent though.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

I have been so fortunate to have beautiful people in my life who taught me to be creative and love the arts. One of those people was my grandfather, Phillip Patterson. He was an opera singer who toured Europe during World War II, made the best strawberry jam in the South, and had a passion for painting. There are several of his paintings hanging in my parents’ house, but this one is my favorite of them all. On a hot summer day just before he passed away, he and I had an afternoon of painting together. Neither of us actually finished our paintings, but I will never forget the hours we spent in the garage together. This is the scene that he painted that day, and it is the last painting he ever created. I keep it displayed in my house on his easel, and every time I look at it I’m reminded of the creative heritage I received from him. (See the painting here: http://mariehines.tumblr.com/post/44727975493/painting)

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I grew up reading classic novels- one of my mom’s favorite books is Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, and she would read it to me before bed as I was growing up. Because of that, reading classic literature is nostalgic for me, and I love what it does for my songwriting. I’m currently reading Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen (I got a newly designed hardback set of the classics from Barnes & Noble recently, and I love them!)

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

“Let Her Go” by Passenger, along with the rest of his 2012 album, “All The Little Lights”. I’m obsessed with Mike Rosenberg’s lyricism- his songwriting is so deep and rooted, and his lyrics are so fresh and interesting. The production is really excellent on this most recent record as well!

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

I very rarely cry over a movie, and only will allow myself to do so if I’m watching it alone… The last movie that made me cry was called “Bright Star”, a movie about the 3 year romance between 19th century poet John Keats and artist Fanny Brawne, which was cut short by Keats’ early death at 25. I know it sounds cheesy, but their love story was incredibly beautiful and it reminded me so much of my relationship with my fiance… I saw us in them, and when Keats died at the end I LOST it- I was a blubbering fool, thinking of how it would feel to lose my love! Still gets me to this day.

8. Cat person or dog person?

Dog person- I’m actually really allergic to cats, so it’s an obvious choice!

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

I believe that there’s a balance. I’m very Southern, so I was raised to be polite and kind. I’m also naturally a sensitive person, and hate it if I ever say something that would hurt someone. However, I think that truth is important and deserves to be spoken- in most situations, the truth can be delivered with kindness.

10. How do you define sin?

I think that sin is an action that is morally wrong, an action that brings harm to you or someone around you. I think that the original reference to sin was made to show us the things that would harm us, and help give us guidance towards leading happy & fulfilling lives.

11. How do you define virtue?

Virtue is the strength to stand for your personal belief of what is right even in the face of adversity. Virtue is an active & intentional consistency in the pursuit of goodness.

12. Design your headstone:

What does it say? What does it look like? Ultimately, I hope that I live well and love hard. There’s a quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson that I try to live by, and it says, “To laugh often and much; to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; to earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; to appreciate beauty, to find the best in others; to leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch or a redeemed social condition; to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.”

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Norah Jones

Connections:
Marie Hines
@marie_hines

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

