Skip to content

Swing Hero

April 10, 2013

swing hero, marshall gallagher

Swing Hero makes appealing music. And I mean that in a good way. Their tracks have the sort of head-bobbing infectiousness that could make long-haired heshers and ironically-mustachioed hipster kids peacefully co-exist at a show. There’s some power in their grooves, the lyrics are sharp, and the vocals live somewhere perfect in the rock ‘n roll whine-to-sneer continuum between Alice Cooper and Brian Molko. So sing along, boys and girls, hipsters and heshers, these are anthemic pop-rock songs that will get under your skin.

Marshall Gallagher writes the tunes, sings, and plays bass and guitar. Patrick Kline plays drums. We’re grateful to the boys in My Body Sings Electric for bringing Swing Hero to our attention. Give a listen to their new EP Nothing Real Is Left on their  Bandcamp page while you read along.

1. What is your hometown?

Littleton (Littlefun), CO.  I live in Los Angeles, as of about 3 months ago.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Andrew W.K… he’s fictional, right? I’m pretty sure I’ve met two different versions of him so I’m not entirely sure he’s real. The concept of AWK is real, so it doesn’t really matter whether he exists in physical form. Kinda like Jesus, or James Bond. Anyway, he loves music, pizza and partying, and those are the things I think I love the most. We look strikingly similar, and I was the lead singer of an AWK tribute band (Party Hard) for a few years. I hope to one day be as PARTY as he is.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

John Cusack. Or Ice Cube, if Cusack were unavailable.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

“Siamese Dream” by Smashing Pumpkins. It’s been a staple in my CD player (or what have you) since I was about 12 years old and it still gives me goosebumps every single time I listen. Maybe it’s because I was so young and impressionable when I discovered it, but I’d say that’s the one artistic work that’s become an intrinsic part of me, “soul” and otherwise.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I’m reading Game of Thrones, slowly but surely. I’ve never seen the show but so far this book rules. I’m a sucker for fantasy.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Swervedriver’s “Mezcal Head”. I know I’m about 20 years too late, but a friend of mine just showed them to me and I lost my shit. Probably my new (whatever) favorite band.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Toy Story 3. Pixar knows how to pull at my heart strings. The very last scene where Andy gives away all his toys to that little girl before he jets off to college, never to see his old friends again?? Come on, if you didn’t tear up a little bit you’re a monster.

8. Cat person or dog person?

Dog, but only because I’m allergic to cats. And no dog has ever ambushed me in a dark hallway for no apparent reason, or bitten through my leather jacket in a fit of rage. Curse you, Spaceboy…

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

I guess I’d say kindness, because truth seems to be all about perception. No matter how false something may be, you can believe it with all your heart and it becomes your own truth. It might be denial, but that doesn’t matter to someone with convictions. I’m not impressed with most of the people I encounter, but I’m always nice to them until they give me a good reason not to be. If people spent more time being kind to each other and less time trying to find the “truth” about things (religion, politics, other bullshit) and shoving said relative truths in other people’s faces, humans might not destroy each other so much. Even if you mean kindness to spare someone’s feelings, it still comes out on top for me. Like, if you catch your best friend’s girlfriend cheating and choose to not say anything for the sake of your friend’s happiness… sure it might be better if he knew the truth, but kindness still wins because if that girl was kind at all she’d tell the truth, or not be such a slut. As a wise young Keanu Reeves once said, “Be excellent to each other”.

10. How do you define sin?

Sin is only a thing if you’re religious, and I’m not. I’m still on the fence about whether or not morality is real, and I’m leaning towards the negative. So, maybe just a tool used by the church (whichever one) to instill good behavior, or compliance.

Also, Chicken and Waffles.

11. How do you define virtue?

Getting through life without fucking other people, and sometimes helping them.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

It’s shaped like a Gibson Flying V, solid gold, 30 stories tall and located in the middle of the Sea of Tranquility. It says, “NOTHING IS COOL” along the neck of the V.

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

My Dad. Or if you’re going to actually contact them, Adam Halferty from American Tomahawk.

Connections:
Swing Hero
@swinghero

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

