Skip to content

Danny Malone

April 22, 2013

Danny Malone. Photo by Bradley Linton

Photo: Bradley Linton

Anyone who thinks that electronic music can’t be emotional hasn’t listened to Danny Malone. More singer-songwriter than knob-twiddler, Danny’s sweet, aching vocals and taut guitar work convey a sexy rawness and vulnerability that permeates the surprisingly warm glitches and burbles of his music.

Danny’s latest release, Balloons – set to drop June 4th – was recorded in a 15th Century castle in Western Denmark called Engelsholm.  It is widely believed that this castle is haunted by the souls of tortured slaves once housed there many hundreds of years ago, along with the souls of philosophers and Alchemists who freed the castle of slavery after buying it from a tyrant Danish King. S0me of this atmosphere crept into the songs as Danny and co-producer Mattie Smith spent 10 days recording in this castle.

1. What is your hometown?

My hometown is Austin, Tx. But I swear to god I came from thin air.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Myself. I’m almost positive none of this is happening right now and that you are watching a movie or having a dream. A wonderful and sad, Big Big Sad, dreamemory.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Why? I fit the role so well. I don’t understand the question.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

It’s hard to say. So many things ignite an emotional reaction from me. My soul really just reacts to things when I’m open to it. There are certain times in my life when I’m only output, only here for others’ reactions. Then there are times when I can only feel for myself, completely selfish, and hyperbolically emotional.

So…My friend Chris Denny seems to really get to me. He’s a songwriter. When I watch him play, I cry more often than not. There are many others, but there is one example for you.

It’s less a single work of art than an amalgamation of someone’s entire life. Sometimes a single song or photograph or film can let me see a person’s entire life, or personal bubble in which they live; but I wouldn’t site an individual’s single work of art to elicit this insight into their Big Empty. I would say that sometimes I am just the hawk-eyed knower of things, and occasionally something–a memory, a work of art, a person’s singular action–is the portal to this place, where the shaking is erased, and the Big Sad drapes us like a blanket we few are under.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I haven’t read a book in a decade.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Heart Shaped Box by Nirvana

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Where The Wild Things Are…no, I don’t remember. The ones in my head.

8. Cat person or dog person?

Just a person. I have a cat. I guess I’m a cat. That’s what my friends have said.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Truth. My god. Get real.

10. How do you define sin?

I have never defined that word before. Isn’t that some biblical bullshit? It’s not my place to define that word. That question makes me uncomfortable.

11. How do you define virtue?

It’s just a slicker way of saying “where’d you”

Like, “virtue go last night?”

I don’t know. Virtue is probably doing stuff that isn’t a sin.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

It says, “sorry, this dude was cremated, y’all. Get real.”

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Nobody. Ever. That was difficult!!!

Connections:
Danny Malone
@danny_malone

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

