Skip to content

Touché

June 26, 2013

Touche

For a couple of high school pals who always knew they’d be in a band together, Bram Inscore and Alex Lilly have done enough compelling music making separately to make what their doing in their band Touché a truly exciting endeavor. Inscore has played bass and keyboards with Beck, Thurston Moore, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Sebastian Teller, and is currently playing with Twin Shadow. Lilly has lent her voice and keyboard talent to bands like Bird and the Bee, Ry Cooder, and Nick Lowe.

Their main objective with Touché is to find a place where their psyches overlap and what they end up with, as they describe it, is much like a “sci-fi love story”: lust, obsession, fate, human inadequacy and the struggle for control.
The sound of Touché is a mix of wonderful, complex elements – strong voices, clear concerted placement of sounds, and it’s crazy danceable. It’s Fate, their new LP, was released May 2013.

1. What is your hometown?

Bram:

San Francisco born and raised

Alex:

San Francisco via Huntington Beach

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Alex:

Larry David’s caricature of himself from “Curb Your Enthusiasm”

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Alex:

Parker Posey

Bram:

Young Bram: Michael Sera, old Bram: Steve Buscemi

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Bram:

Garden of Earthly Delights

Hieronymus Bosch “Garden of Earthly Delights”

Alex:

Holzer

Jenny Holzer. Conceptual art has never been a point of interest for me until recently when I watched a fascinating documentary about artist Jenny Holzer. You can find her “truisms” in cities around the world. Look out!

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Bram:

“The Shock Doctrine” Naomi Cline. My grandma gave me this book (she said she gives it to everyone) It’s about how the US has spread it’s capitalist interests into developing countries using shock tactics. A very enlightening read!

Alex:

“Maurice Sendak : 1980 to Present” by Tony Kirschner. Unfortunately it’s out of print so you’ll have to visit a number of estate sales to find it or you can borrow it from me.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Bram:

“Anenome” by Brian Jonestown Massacre

Alex:

The album “Book M” by Secret Chiefs 3

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Bram:

“Lawrence of Arabia”…tears of joy from witnessing such a pinnacle of cinematic beauty.

Alex:

I can’t remember when I last cried at the movies but I wept my eyeballs out during the musical production of “Annie”. Maybe because I’m searching for my Daddy Warbucks.

8. Cat person or dog person?

Alex:

I like cats that remind of dogs and dogs that behave like cats. Also, that’s the worst question to ask on a first date.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Alex:

The truth but only the kindest truth.

10. How do you define sin?

Bram:

I don’t believe in sin.

Alex:

Motivation for being kinky.

11. How do you define virtue?

Bram:

Virtue is knowing when to sin.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

Bram:

If I have enough money when I die I want an extremely phallic 40-foot obelisk that shoots a laser out of the top. It projects “R.I.P. Bram” onto the moon”.

Alex:

I often day dream about a traditional warrior chief ceremony for my dead self…light me on fire and send me down the river.

Connections:
@wetouchyou
Touché

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

