Skip to content

Colleen Green

July 10, 2013

ColleenGreen1

Colleen Green is kind of the coolest girl ever. Her cutoff shorts and Grant jersey are tomboyish and casual. Her trademark reflective sunglasses shine cooly back at you. She reminds me a lot of the first girl I smoked weed with as a teenager – so nonchalant about who she is. She has an effortless cool that we’ve all tried to achieve at one time or another. And the fact that she can play a music and charm the hell out of you makes her all the more fascinating.

With guitar, drum machine, and her lovely voice, Green’s stripped down music style reflects a kind of honest pop music that makes you feel young again. It’s fun! And music should be fun!
So, if you’re compiling your summer jams for 2013, grab yourself a copy of Sock it to Me from Hardly Art.

1. What is your hometown?

Dunstable, MA.

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

I can’t think of an instance in which I’ve been watching or reading something and thought, “That person is ME!” I’ve mostly identified with certain pathological behaviors that certain characters exhibited to me. It’s been years since I looked at the book, but I always think about how Holden Caulfield couldn’t stop himself from telling a girl that he loved her, even though he didn’t REALLY love her, but in that moment, he REALLY did. And I believe in that. It’s what my song “Goldmine” is inspired by.

“Finally, old Sally started coming up the stairs, and I started down to meet her. She looked terrific. She really did. She had on this black coat and sort of a black beret. She hardly ever wore a hat, but that beret looked nice. The funny part is, I felt like marrying her the minute I saw her. I’m crazy. I didn’t even like her much, and yet all of a sudden I felt like I was in love with her and wanted to marry her. I swear to God I’m crazy. I admit it.”

“We horsed around a little bit in the cab on the way over to the theater. At first she didn’t want to, because she had her lipstick on and all, but I was being seductive as hell and she didn’t have any alternative. Twice, when the goddam cab stopped short in traffic, I damn near fell off the seat. Those damn drivers never even look where they’re going, I swear they don’t. Then, just to show you how crazy I am, when we were coming out of this big clinch, I told her I loved her and all. It was a lie, of course, but the thing is, I meant it when I said it. I’m crazy. I swear to God I am. “

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Rob Schneider.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

This: Work of Art

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I just finished “Gerald’s Game” by Stephen King, and I’ve been sorta reading “The Nature of Reality” by Richard Morris and “The Colors of Love” by John Alan Lee, although they both read like a textbook. Books I brought on tour included “Some Things Strange and Sinister” (a collection of stories) and “Too Fat to Fish” by Artie Lange. I just read and highly recommend Rob Lowe’s autobiography “Stories I Only Tell My Friends”.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Technotronic, but on CD.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

I try to avoid movies that seem liable to make me cry. I do enough of that on my own, thank you. I mean, the last movie I saw in the theatre was “Movie 43”. But family stuff always gets me. Mrs. Doubtfire was on TV the other day. I had to change the channel.

8.  Cat person or dog person?

Doggies 4 life!

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Kindness.

10.    How do you define sin?

I wouldn’t try to define “sin” because I don’t believe in God, Judgment, and all that rot. All I know is what I believe to be right and wrong. It is very very hard to distinguish between the two in everyday life, because most of it is subjective and contingent on who one is as a person. Like, “That guy is wearing the wrong hat.” There is also lots of gray in the world. The only acts that I can say with total confidence are wrong are those that disregard humanity. I’m in general accordance with the Ten Commandments. I’m just not into organized religion.

11.    How do you define virtue?

Awww, virtue is nice. It’s like everything inside of you that is good and pure. All the ideals your parents and teachers and friends handed down to you. The stuff you keep is what’s important. When I think about virtue in terms of ME, it makes me feel really happy.

12.   Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

I have honestly never given this question any thought and anyway … why would I?

Connections:
@colleengreen420
Colleen Green – Hardly Art

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

