Skip to content

Saucy Monky

September 3, 2013

Saucy Monky, Photo by Trevor Gale

 

Twelve year veterans of the L.A. indie scene, Saucy Monky deliver jagged pop song with a solid rock n’ roll punch. Founded in 2001 by long-time friends Annmarie Cullen and Cynthia Catania, Saucy Monky’s maturity as a band shines through in polished pop riffs and compelling hooks, with Annmarie’s powerful vocals bringing it all together. Saucy Monky are Annmarie Cullen [vocals, guitar], Cynthia Catania [vocals/guitar], Steve Giles [bass], and Megan Jane [drums]. Their latest release is the Trophy Girl EP series. Check out “Sleepwalking” for a sample of the sort of solid songwriting that only years together and a lot of hard work can craft.

1. What is your hometown?

Annmarie

Dublin, Ireland

Cynthia

Totowa, NJ

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Annmarie

I have been stuck on this question for 10 minutes and I still can’t think of an answer. Lisa Simpson! (Except, not really)

Cynthia

 Holly Golightly. She was the first character that resonated with my fantasy persona.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Annmarie

Daniel Day Lewis. He can play anyone right?

Cynthia

 Jennifer Connelly.

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

Annmarie

Sometimes the chaos in a Salvador Dali painting really speaks to me. I’m not sure why.

Cynthia

 Botticelli’s Primavera.  Something about this painting made me pause.  It struck some ancient chord in me.

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

Annmarie

I just bought Mindy Kaling (from “The Office”) “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me-And Other Concerns.” It was a staff recommendation at my local book shop.

Cynthia

My reading has been interrupted by Netflix and my current binge of “The West Wing” series (I am learning about politics though!).

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

Annmarie

Norah Jones “Little Broken Hearts.” It’s so good.

Cynthia

 “Sweater Weather,” the Neighbourhood. First song in a long while that I hunted down.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

Annmarie

I can’t remember…but I cry at stupid TV shows like “Undercover Boss.”

Cynthia

 Upon repeat viewing, “Brokeback Mountain.”  I’m sorry, but this one kills me every time.

8. Cat person or dog person?

Annmarie

Definitely a dog.

Cynthia

D-o-g.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Annmarie

Both…but I’ll vote for kindness if it’s an either/or.

Cynthia

Truth!

10. How do you define sin?

Annmarie

Sin has too much of a religious connotation to me. I think life in general is about being kind, loving and treating others well. My friend Jamie says, “It’s very simple, don’t be a dick.”

Cynthia

 Well, ignoring all the religious dogmas, my interpretation would be complete disregard of one’s own moral code.

11. How do you define virtue?

Annmarie

As above. Being kind, loving and treating others well.

Cynthia

Generosity; being of service.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

Annmarie

Deary me, what a morbid question! I don’t want a headstone. Cremate me and put me on your mantlepiece. Your cat will probably knock me over eventually and spill me on the floor (which is why I’m a dog person). I won’t care. I’ll be blissfully dead.

Cynthia

Well, I just signed my organ donor card.  So, I’m opting for cremation. 
But if i had one, “Work in progress – completed.” 

Bonus Question: Who would you like to see answer these questions?

Annmarie

My band mate Cynthia, because she’ll probably do a better job representing the band (-:

Cynthia

Carrie Brownstein. 🙂

Connections:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

