Skip to content

Luke Miller

September 19, 2013

Luke Miller

If you’re one of the guys who spent hours wandering around Skyrim wearing an Amulet of Mara looking for cute dudes to marry, but were disappointed when the romance train jumped from nuptials to banal domesticity without any hot Nord action, then we have a game for you. Earlier this year, Luke Miller of UP Multimedia introduced the sci-fi adventure game My Ex-Boyfriend the Space Tyrant to bring some sexy fun to gaymers everywhere. The adventures of Tycho Minogue feature beautiful illustrations by comics artist Joe Phillips, and the game delivers campy good fun, and lots of animated boys in their underpants. The game is available for download, and you can vote for it in the Steam Greenlight competition. Gay games are the next frontier in videogames, and we’re happy to boldly go wherever this creative developer leads!

1. What is your hometown?

Melbourne (Australia)

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Liz Lemon, from when 30 Rock was on. I too have had lettuce in my hair.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

Too easy – Ewan McGregor

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

I had a copy of McCubbin’s The Pioneer hanging on the wall growing up and I hope one day to make a game that captures that pioneer spirit.

Frederick-McCubbin-The-Pioneer-1904

5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I was standing in a queue for a panel at gaming convention PAX Australia yesterday. I was surrounded by people in fun costumes enjoying games on their 3DSes. While I was waiting there I finished reading “The Old Man and the Sea” by Ernest Hemingway. I was so moved by it I had to spend a few moments going “I will not cry in a PAX line I will not cry in a PAX line I will not cry in front of Finn the Human”. It was very surreal!

Before that I read the 1970s classic scifi “The Mote in God’s Eye” by Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle. I love scifi that has aliens that think very differently from humans. I wonder if in our Internet age authors can still put themselves in an truly alien mindset like the writers of the 70s and earlier – we’re all so connected these days with things like reddit – can we still think differently? It’s hard to say what’s more alien about that book, the Moties or the 1970s sensibilities!

Next on my reading list is “The Secret of Talmor Manor” a supernatural gay romance by indie gay writer Matthew Lang. I’m looking forward to it.

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

The San Cisco cover of Daft Punk’s Get Lucky. It’s a live recording from a radio show a few months back and they nailed it.

And I recently discovered Midnight Juggernauts and they’re like the soundtrack to an epic scifi adventure game.

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

I had a good cry recently at “All the Way Through Evening” – a musical documentary about an annual concert in New York that uses sheet music written by composers who have died from HIV/AIDS. The way that disease, and the stigma that was attached at the time, tore through people’s lives in the 1980s chills me to the bone. HIV/AIDS activists from that period are heroes, full stop.

8. Cat person or dog person?

Dog person!

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Truth, but the truth is often multi-faceted and a person who knows that will always act with kindness.

10. How do you define sin?

I used to know but now I have no idea. I think corruption is wrong. I think violence is wrong. I think systemic bias against someone for factors out of their control is wrong. I’m not really religious, sorry!

11. How do you define virtue?

Doing the right thing even when no-one is watching.

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

I try to avoid using gendered language in my day-to-day life but I would be happy if it said on my tombstone: “a gentle man”.

Connections:

My Ex-Boyfriend the Space Tyrant!
Steam Greenlight

@dodgyville

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

