Skip to content

Lucius

October 7, 2013
Lucius
Lucius is a triple-threat of vocal harmonies, infectious hooks, and dance-inducing percussion. Pair those traits with the band’s irresistible live show and it’s easy to see why NPR Music calls Lucius “a fabulous band playing such infectious pop songs” and Paste hails the group as “blissful.” Charismatic co-founders and lead vocalists Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig sing in unison – two voices as one – uniquely delivering songs with stories told from the same perspective. Multi-instrumentalists Andrew Burri, Peter Lalish, and Dan Molad round out the stylish, Brooklyn-based quintet. Lucius release their debut album Wildewoman, October 15 in North America on Mom+Pop.
Solidifying its reputation as a must-see live band, Lucius has already left its mark on this year’s SXSW, Bonnaroo and Solid Sound festivals. The band takes to the road once again for headlining shows in Brooklyn, Los Angeles, San Francisco and more, and to share stages with Tegan & Sara and The Head and the Heart.
Peter Lalish responded to the questionnaire.

1. What is your hometown?

The band grew up all over the country.

Jess is from LA,  Holly is from Cleveland, Andy is a from Marquette in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and Danny is from H-Town, Clutch City, Houston.  I’m from Northwood, New Hampshire. 

Here is a photograph of my house from 1910, next to a baptist church with Godzilla in the foreground.  He is fighting against NH State Representative, Kyle Tasker.  And Godzilla is KICKING HIS ASS!!!

NH

2. With what fictional character do you most identify?

Buckaroo Banzai

He was a physicist, a pilot, samurai, lover, lawyer, neurosurgeon, test pilot, crooner and rock musician.  I am some of those things.

3. In the movie of your life, cast an actor to play you.

When I was in 3rd grade I played a cow in a Christmas play.  All I had to do was sit next to the baby Jesus while people brought him gifts and sang carols.  At the end of the play, I was supposed to stand up and walk off stage but my legs had fallen asleep.  I stood up and fell on the bottles of frankincense and myrrh, knocking them all over.

I would probably have Daniel Day Lewis play me, just so I could see how much he could get into the character of me, dressed in a cow suit, falling over on stage.

JESUS DAY

4. What work of art speaks to your soul?

“All Things Must Pass”.  Perhaps my favorite album of all time.  There’s an amazing clip of the pedal steel player Pete Drake goofing around in the studio during an outtake.  That’s some of the most beautiful goofing around ever recorded. 

 5. What books are you currently reading or recommending?

I always recommend “In Persuasion Nation” by George Saunders to everyone.  I’ve purchased that book so many times and given it away to friends in hopes they will love it as much as I do.  I just started reading the new George Saunder’s book of short stories “Tenth of December”.  I love his writing. It’s incredibly funny and sad and imaginative.  

I also love reading comic books and graphic novels, especially on the road.  The Aldebaran series, Saga and The Wake are all super awesome.

Aldebaran-comic

Also, Game of Thrones………..

6. What song or album is currently in heavy rotation on your iPod?

I finally came around to Kate Bush and now I’m hooked on the song “Wuthering Heights”.   

I had to read Wuthering Heights in high school and pretty sure my distaste led me to write a half-assed book report using only the info I gathered from the first chapter and then the last couple of pages of the book.  Now I’m obsessed with a song about the very same book I hated so much.  I think I might need to brush up on my cliff notes….

 

7. What’s the last movie that made you cry?

I just re-watched “Paris, Texas” for the millionth time.  Everything that makes up that film is top notch. The writing, acting, cinematography and music all work together perfectly.  

Paris, Texas

Also if you wanna see me cry put on Ken Burn’s “Baseball” 18 hour documentary.  I don’t know what it is about it, but I get mega sentimental every time an old piano starts playing “Take Me Out to The Ball Game” while the camera pans over a faded picture of Lou Gehrig hitting a ground rule double.

8.  Cat person or dog person?

I love cats.  They are independent and know exactly when to give affection, just like any good roommate.  Dogs are great  as well, but I worry that they are always staring at me and trying to read my mind.

9. What is more important, truth or kindness?

Truth is not always kind but it is the most important thing for me.

10. How do you define sin?

That’s the stuff that makes for great songs!

11. How do you define virtue?

That’s the stuff that makes for great role models!

12. Design your headstone: What does it say? What does it look like?

“Due to a lack of unused and un-polluted soil left on Earth 2.0, here lies the virtual memory of Peter Woodman Lalish.  Plug your iHead Cord into his iHeadstone and connect wirelessly to his Virtual Human iLifesite where you can watch every digitally recorded moment of his life compiled online. Download for free straight to your iBrain!”

Connections:
Lucius
@ilovelucius

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

